Insert future code here--> 1-1 to 1-31 Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
STANDARD HERMAN AD--> Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
Herrmann 40--> “Herrmann <-----
MD Higher Education Commission
Insert future code here
“Nationals October 2019

Five AACPS educators named as finalists for Teacher of the Year

| March 25, 2017, 11:05 AM

Rams Head

Five educators from all levels of the public school system were named today as finalists for 2017 Anne Arundel County Public Schools Teacher of the Year. The finalists are:

  • Joshua Carroll, STEM teacher at South River High School
  • Sally PazyMiño Wilson, second-grade teacher at Tyler Heights Elementary School
  • Stacey Scofield, media specialist at Mills-Parole Elementary School
  • Timothy Smith, physical education teacher at Folger McKinsey Elementary School
  • Denise Stephanos, math teacher at Arundel High School

EIE finalists 2017Two teachers from the county’s independent schools were also named as semifinalists for 2017 Independent Schools Teacher of the Year:

  • Deborah Flynn, St. Mary’s High School
  • Kelly Rampmeyer, The Summit School

The finalists will be among 34 public school and seven independent school educators to be honored at the 31st annual Excellence in Education banquet at the BWI Marriott in Linthicum on April 26, 2017.  The event is sponsored by AACPS and the Annapolis and Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce.

The following public schools educators have been nominated by their schools and communities, and will also be honored at the event (semifinalists denoted by asterisks):

  • Karin Abbott, Windsor Farm Elementary School
  • Lori Berry, Woodside Elementary School
  • Debra Biggs, Pasadena Elementary School
  • Kristen Brice, Richard Henry Lee Elementary School
  • Josalyn Brown, Crofton Woods Elementary School
  • Amy Chitwood, Rolling Knolls Elementary School
  • Alane Connolly, Shady Side Elementary School
  • Tammy Dronberger, Broadneck High School
  • Alma Durm, Ruth Parker Eason School*
  • Amanda Embury, Frank Hebron-Harman Elementary School
  • Tricia Fisher, Broadneck Elementary School
  • Nancy Hack-Behringer, Mayo Elementary School*
  • LaWanda Hoes, Corkran Middle School
  • Angela Holmes, Oak Hill Elementary School
  • Allison Johnson, Mary Moss @ J. Albert Adams Academy
  • Elizabeth Joy, South Shore Elementary School
  • Denise Lane, George Cromwell Elementary School
  • Kelly Lewis, Arundel Middle School
  • Janet Liimatta, Ferndale Early Education Center*
  • Tori Peddicord, Southern Middle School
  • Shelby Queen, Shipley’s Choice Elementary School
  • Sarah Rogers, Meade High School
  • Deborah Sparby, Severna Park Middle School
  • Elizabeth Starnes, Southern High School*
  • Robert Stojakovich, Magothy River Middle School*
  • Virginia Sutherin, Old Mill High School
  • Lydia Teal, Central Elementary School
  • Gail Turk, Lindale Middle School
  • Suzy Wyatt, Davidsonville Elementary School

The following independent school educators have also been nominated by their schools and communities (semifinalists denoted by asterisks):

  • Margaret Kling, St. Mary’s Elementary School
  • Thomas Mach, Archbishop Spalding High School*
  • Kathy Poerstel, Aleph Bet Jewish Day School*
  • Margaret Sagi, St. Paul’s Lutheran School
  • Sharon Toms, St. Margaret’s Day School

In addition to naming the 2017 Anne Arundel County Public Schools Teacher of the Year, who will represent Anne Arundel County in the statewide competition later this year, the Anne Arundel County Independent Schools Teacher of the Year will also be announced at the event. Also set to be honored are businesses that have forged critical partnerships with schools across the county, directly benefiting AACPS’ nearly 81,000 students.

For sponsorship information and ticket orders, please click here. For additional information about the 2017 Excellence in Education event, please call 410-266-3960.

Source :


Category: Local News, NEWS, Post To FB

About the Author - EOA Staff

Eye On Annapolis is a community based site focusing strictly on Anne Arundel County. These staff postings are general news postings made by our team of bloggers throughout the day and are not attributed to any one particular staff person.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter YouTube rss feed

Fourth of July Cruises
Insert future code here