Herb McMillan For Anne Arundel County Executive
--> Annapolis Restaurant Week <-----
--> <-----
--> Wes Adams For Anne Arundel Conty Circuit Court Judge <-----
Insert future code here--> 1-1 to 1-31 Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
STANDARD HERMAN AD--> Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
Herrmann 40--> “Herrmann <-----
MD Higher Education Commission Near Completer
Insert future code here
1-14-22 to 3-8-22 <------
-- October 21 - 1-14-22 <---------
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

3 Finalists for SMOB to Debate on April 21

| April 16, 2022, 10:15 AM

The three finalists for the 2022-2023 Student Member of the Board of Education (SMOB) will participate in a debate at 6 p.m. on April 21, 2022.

The finalists are:

  • Jaden Farris, South River High School
  • Oscar Fuentes, Northeast High School
  • Zachary McGrath, Severna Park High School

The debate will be broadcast live on AACPS-TV and on AACPS’ YouTube channel. The election to determine the candidate whose name will be forwarded to the governor for appointment will take place later this month.

The SMOB election is sponsored by the Chesapeake Regional Association of Student Councils. (CRASC). The student member is appointed by the Governor, serves a one-year term during his or her senior year of high school, and receives an $8,000 college scholarship.  Anne Arundel’s student member is the only one in the nation on a local Board of Education with full voting rights.

Liquified Creative Annapolis

CRASC’s constitution and bylaws call for high schools and middle schools in the county to be allotted a predetermined number of delegates, based on each school’s enrollment, at the election. Delegates will represent student government, the arts, athletics, and other extracurricular activities.

Those who wish to submit questions for the debate can do so by going to www.aacps.org/crasc and clicking on the link on the right side of the page.  Students must log into the form using their school accounts.

AACPS-TV can be found on Channel 96 on Comcast and Broadstripe, and Channel 36 on Verizon. High-definition broadcasts can be seen on Channel 996 on Comcast, Channel 496 on Broadstripe, and Channel 1961 on Verizon.

Category: Local News, NEWS, Post To FB

About the Author - EOA Staff

Eye On Annapolis is a community based site focusing strictly on Anne Arundel County. These staff postings are general news postings made by our team of bloggers throughout the day and are not attributed to any one particular staff person.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter YouTube rss feed