February 23, 2024
Annapolis, US 42 F

ASO concert spotlights works by underrepresented Black composers  

Following September’s successful virtual launch, the Annapolis Symphony Orchestra, under the direction of Maestro José-Luis Novo, unites works from diverse composers in one sweeping performance for their second concert of the 2020-21 Masterworks Series: “Copland Clarinet Concerto.”

The concert will be performed live for virtual viewing on October 24, embracing the poetry and music of Americans Aaron Copland and Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson; Edvard Grieg of Norway; and Samuel Coleridge-Taylor of England.

The inclusion of both Samuel Coleridge-Taylor (Afro-British) and Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson (African American) in the same program is a deliberate effort from the ASO to reflect current social and civil unrest and to spotlight the underrepresented musical culture of the African American community.

Connecting beautifully with this subject, the Clarinet Concerto by Copland brings this program to a glorious end with his masterful assimilation of the jazz idiom into the symphonic repertoire. The Symphony’s principal clarinetist, Robert DiLutis, takes center stage to perform. The solo work, commissioned by the “King of Swing” Benny Goodman, is lyrical and heavily influenced by jazz.

Concert Program 

  • Edvard Grieg, Holberg Suite op. 40 
  • Samuel Coleridge-Taylor, Novelette in A major, op. 52 No. 1
  • Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson, Grass, Poem for Piano, Strings & Percussion – Lura Johnson, piano
  • Aaron Copland, Clarinet Concerto – Robert DiLutis, clarinet

ASO Live! October 24, 2020 | 8 PM | The Music Center at Strathmore

ASO RePlay available on the week of November 2, 2020

Due to COVID-19, the ASO is offering virtual performances via Symphony+, a comprehensive streaming platform powered by Vimeo Over the Top (OTT). An All-Access Household Pass for the complete season is $99, and offers pre-concert talks, live viewing and unlimited replay as follows:

  • ASO Live! – A live stream of each concert in the 2020-21 Masterworks Series and Holiday Classics with Music Director José-Luis Novo and the Orchestra from the Music Center at Strathmore utilizing the Center’s existing multi-camera capabilities for patron’s enhanced viewing experience.
  • ASO RePlay – the ability to access previous ASO Live! performances, including additional content such as ASO Chats, past performances, interviews, and behind-the-scenes video.
  • ASO Chats – virtual offering of the popular pre-concert talks with Dr. Rachel Franklin. These 45-minute discussions will cover history, musical examples, stories, and anecdotes of the composers. Available for unlimited viewing a few days prior to the concert on ASO RePlay.

A single ASO Live! Household ticket for real-time viewing of one concert is $49. Tickets are available at AnnapolisSymphony.org/VirtualSeries or the box office at 410.263.0907.

Previous Article

Maryland Health Connection insurance rates drop for third year

Next Article

Why Lamar Jackson and Black QBs could be NFL’s future

You might be interested in …