Herb McMillan For Anne Arundel County Executive
--> Annapolis Restaurant Week <-----
--> <-----
--> Wes Adams For Anne Arundel Conty Circuit Court Judge <-----
Insert future code here--> 1-1 to 1-31 Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
STANDARD HERMAN AD--> Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
Herrmann 40--> “Herrmann <-----
MD Higher Education Commission Near Completer
Insert future code here
1-14-22 to 3-8-22 <------
-- October 21 - 1-14-22 <---------
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

6 educators named as finalists for Anne Arundel Teacher of the Year

| March 07, 2020, 04:00 PM

Educators from two elementary schools, two middle schools, one high school, and one center of applied technology make up the field of six finalists for the 2020 Anne Arundel County Public Schools Teacher of the Year.  The finalists are:

  • Lindsay Breach, a fourth-grade teacher at Glendale Elementary School
  • Emily Davis, a language arts teacher at Brooklyn Park Middle School
  • Mollie Dwyer, a special education teacher at Waugh Chapel Elementary School
  • Tema Encarnacion, an ESOL teacher at Annapolis High School
  • David Fawley, a marine service technology teacher at the Center of Applied Technology – South
  • Hope Turner, a language arts teacher at Marley Middle Schol

Superintendent George Arlotto was joined by Board of Education members last week in surprising the finalists in their classrooms. The finalists were chosen by a panel of judges who reviewed their applications and observed them instructing students.

Liquified Creative Annapolis

In addition, the following teachers were named finalists for the Independent Schools Teacher of the Year award:

  • Camille Baumann, a science teacher at St. Mary’s High School
  • Laraine Olechowski, an art teacher at St. Mary’s Elementary School

The finalists will be among 50 public schools teachers and five independent school teachers to be honored at the 34th Annual Excellence in Education Awards Dinner at the BWI Marriott in Linthicum on Thursday, April 16, 2020. This event is hosted by the 21st Century Education Foundation.

The following public school educators will also be honored at the event (asterisk denotes semifinalist):

  • Scott Armstrong, Pershing Hill Elementary School
  • Theresa Bange, North County High School
  • Matthew Bem, Broadneck High School*
  • Nikki Carleton, Arnold Elementary School
  • Heather Carter, Bates Middle School
  • Jaclyn Cockcroft, Bodkin Elementary School*
  • Frances Collins, Oakwood Elementary School
  • Diana Curtis, Crofton Woods and Odenton elementary schools*
  • Devan Dugan, Crofton Middle School
  • Lisa Elliott, Point Pleasant Elementary School
  • Tamela Fidyk, Davidsonville Elementary School
  • Doreen Fischetti, Crofton Elementary School
  • Kelly Fortune, West Annapolis Elementary School
  • Lynette Gibson, Central Elementary School
  • Tamiko Gomez, Monarch Global Academy
  • Briana Gresko, Southern High School*
  • Amy Insley, Jones Elementary School
  • Erin Kane, Lindale Middle School
  • Stacy Kearns, Severn River Middle School*
  • Kasey Kennedy, Windsor Farm Elementary School
  • Kelsey Kramer, Linthicum Elementary School
  • Patrick LaVelle, Quarterfield Elementary School
  • Brianne McNallen, Georgetown East Elementary School
  • Angela Miller, Shipley’s Choice Elementary School*
  • Nisa Morris, Brooklyn Park Elementary School
  • Jessica Ort, Lothian Elementary School
  • Jessica Phillips, Sunset Elementary School
  • Anna Preston, Old Mill Middle School South
  • Everett Reese, Northeast High School
  • Michael Schemmel, Solley Elementary School
  • Charlene Smith, Arundel Middle School
  • Jennifer Sturgell, Shady Side Elementary School
  • Robin Suda, West Meade Early Education Center
  • Stacy Taylor, Tracey’s Elementary School
  • Marina Thompson, Southern Middle School
  • Robert Tompkins, South River High School*
  • Lauren Walker, Central Middle School*
  • Leslie Watson, Magothy River Middle School
  • Ryshelle Weaver, Tyler Heights Elementary School
  • Patrick Wensyel, Riviera Beach Elementary School
  • Nicole Williams, Hebron-Harman Elementary School
  • Robyn Williams, Meade Middle School
  • Carrie Witham, Old Mill High School
  • Kristie Young, Benfield Elementary School

The following Independent Schools Teacher of the Year nominees will also be honored at the event (asterisk denotes semifinalist):

  • Christopher Deterding, Annapolis Area Christian School*
  • Tedd Griepentrog, St. Paul’s Lutheran School

AACPS has had two of the last three Maryland Teacher of the Year winners, Teresa Beilstein of South Shore Elementary School (2020) and Josh Carroll of South River High School (2018). AACPS Teachers of the Year have also been finalists for Maryland Teacher of the Year in each of the last five years and in seven of the last nine years.

Businesses and organizations interested in sponsorship opportunities for this year’s Excellence in Education Awards can click here or contact Carol Ann McCurdy at [email protected] or 410-222-5829 for more information.

Severn Bank
Source :

Category: Local News, NEWS

About the Author - EOA Staff

Eye On Annapolis is a community based site focusing strictly on Anne Arundel County. These staff postings are general news postings made by our team of bloggers throughout the day and are not attributed to any one particular staff person.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter YouTube rss feed

Comments are closed.