Herb McMillan For Anne Arundel County Executive
--> Annapolis Restaurant Week <-----
--> <-----
--> Wes Adams For Anne Arundel Conty Circuit Court Judge <-----
Insert future code here--> 1-1 to 1-31 Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
STANDARD HERMAN AD--> Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
Herrmann 40--> “Herrmann <-----
MD Higher Education Commission Near Completer
Insert future code here
1-14-22 to 3-8-22 <------
-- October 21 - 1-14-22 <---------
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

79th Annual Naval Academy Brigade Boxing Championships

| February 29, 2020, 09:52 PM

The 79th Annual Brigade Boxing Championships took place in Alumni Hall at the United States Naval Academy in Annapolis, Maryland, on Friday night.

The night, which is usually received with celebration and enthusiasm, began with a somber reminder of two shipmates who lost their lives unexpectedly earlier this month. The arena honored the loss with a moment of silence and a “Boxers Ten-Count.” The ring of the bells echoed throughout Alumni Hall as the Midshipmen honored their fallen brothers, Duke Carrillo and David Forney, followed by a rendition of the National Anthem.

Liquified Creative Annapolis

The event began with the most anticipated fight of the night, Sophie Lekas vs.Shea Auge. Having won her previous three Brigade Boxing Championships, Lekas becomes the first female and only the 21st person ever to win four brigade championships in a career. She trounced Auge, winning the fight by decision. A two-time national champion, Lekas, was initially scheduled to fight Olivia DiCarlo of Cincinnati, OH, but Dicarlo suffered a concussion before the fight and was replaced by Shea Auge.

Lekas is only the second female to ever compete for the coveted Tony Rubino Award. The award is not given, it is earned by those who win their Brigade Boxing Championship all four years of their collegiate career at the Naval Academy.

History was made in the second bout of the evening as well. Jake Clary of Lincolnton, NC also won the Tony Rubino Award as he beat Amir Chase-Hill of Albany, GA by decision. Clary is the 22nd person ever to win the coveted award.


119 LBS: Sophie Lekas (Chicago, IL) vs. Shea Auge (Albuquerque, NM)

119 LBS:  Amir Chase-hill, (Albany GA) vs. Jake Clary (Lincolnton, NC)

125 LBS: Elizabeth Grimming (Portland, TN) vs. Prescillia Truong (Newnan, GA)-

132 LBS: Adrain Johnson (Dallas, TX) vs. Tanner Strawbridge (Corpus Cristi, TX)

132 LBS: Ally Annick (Pasadena, CA) vs. Jill Pashneh-Tala (Woodbridge, VA)

139 LBS: Chris Eguchi (Torrence, CA) vs. Adian McNally (Annapolis, MD) TKO

139 LBS: Darcy Stack (New York, NY) vs. Danielle Morris (Evansville, IN) TKO

147 LBS: Davon Carter (Belle Chasses, LA) vs. Kendell Louis (Miami, FL) 

156 LBS: Jack Jeon (Frisco, TX)  vs. Patrick Giambruno (Northport LI, NY) TKO

156 LBS: Courtney Breen( Providence, RI) vs. Jeanette Steerman (Lamar, CO) 

165 LBS: Grant Booker (Spartanburg, SC) vs. Peyton Seago (Jackson, MS)

165 LBS: Morgan Bolden (Indianapolis, IN) vs. Jordan Barnhart (Wadsworth, OH) SD 

175 LBS: Michael Hitchings (Virginia Beach, VA) vs. Charlie Akerblom (Philadelphia, PA) TKO 

185 LBS: Lewis Guillory (Tulsa, OK) vs. Francois Benoit (Bridgewater, NJ) TKO

195 LBS: Vinny Motzel (St. Paul, MN) vs. Marshall Adair (Starksville, MS)

 HWT: Mike Adzima (Wallington, NJ) vs. Andrew Piehl (Rogers, MN)

*Winners in bold


Spike Webb Outstanding Boxer Award: Jake Clary

  • The Spike Webb Trophy is awarded to the midshipman who is judged the Outstanding Boxer of the Brigade Boxing Championships by combining boxing skills, fortitude, good sportsmanship, and fair play.

Tony Rubino Four-Time Brigade Champion Award: Sophie Lekas and Jake Clary

  • This is a special award given out to midshipmen who have won four Brigade Boxing Championships. During the first 75-years, there had only been twenty recipients of the award. Tonight saw two earn the honor.

Emerson Smith Sportsmanship Award: Tanner Strawbridge

  • Presented in honor of Coach Emerson “Smitty” Smith. Smith, along with Professor Jack Smith, helped create a combination of materials for a safer glove. These gloves are still used today in amateur boxing.

Chris Dobleman Most Improved Boxer Award: Jack Jeon

  • This award is presented in honor of the memory of Christian P. Dobleman, Class of 1988. This award is presented to the Naval Academy boxer that best exemplifies Chris’s courage and determination.

Severn Bank

Category: LIFE IN THE AREA, Local News, NEWS, Post To FB, Sports

About the Author - Kevin Chaney, Jr

Kevin Chaney covers sports all at all levels throughout Anne Arundel County. Follow him on twitter @Kchaneysports and his website www.Shellbacksports.com

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Twitter rss feed