--> Wes Adams For Anne Arundel Conty Circuit Court Judge <-----
Insert future code here--> 1-1 to 1-31 Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
STANDARD HERMAN AD--> Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
Herrmann 40--> “Herrmann <-----
MD Higher Education Commission Near Completer
Insert future code here
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

South Shore Elementary teacher, Teresa Beilstein, named Maryland’s Teacher of the Year

| October 26, 2019, 10:06 AM

Rams Head

South Shore Elementary School third grade teacher Teresa Beilstein

South Shore Elementary School third grade teacher Teresa Beilstein tonight was named the 2019-2020 Maryland Teacher of the Year by the Maryland State Department of Education. State Superintendent Dr. Karen Salmon made the surprise announcement in front of a packed crowd at MSDE’s annual awards banquet at Martin’s West in Baltimore.

Content Continues Below

Rams Head

Beilstein beat out six other finalists to become Anne Arundel County Public Schools’ second Maryland Teacher of the Year in three years. Josh Carroll of South River High School won the award in 2017-2018.

“This profession is truly an honor,” Beilstein said moments after the announcement was made. “It is the intersection of my passion and purpose. I am so lucky to have a career that fulfills me as a person. It’s more than I could ever ask for and I’m honored to represent my colleagues across the state.”

Beilstein is the fourth AACPS teacher to win the state award. In addition to Carroll, Linda Adamson of Mayo and Jessup elementary schools won in 1993-1994 and Patricia Neidhart of Broadneck High School won in 1988-1989.

A National Board Certified Teacher, Beilstein not only did her student teaching at South Shore, but also has spent her entire seven-year career there.

She is known as a teacher who quickly builds relationships with colleagues, students, and parents. She views it, in fact, as the most important ingredient to her healthy classroom.

“Thanks for teaching me everything I know, not just academically, but about myself,” a former student who is now thriving in middle school wrote in an endorsement letter that accompanied Beilstein’s nomination for Anne Arundel County Teacher of the Year.

Beilstein will now represent teachers across Maryland in the National Teacher of the Year competition.

Rams Head


Category: Local News, NEWS, Post To FB

About the Author - EOA Staff

Eye On Annapolis is a community based site focusing strictly on Anne Arundel County. These staff postings are general news postings made by our team of bloggers throughout the day and are not attributed to any one particular staff person.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter YouTube rss feed