--> Annapolis Restaurant Week <-----
--> <-----
--> Wes Adams For Anne Arundel Conty Circuit Court Judge <-----
Insert future code here--> 1-1 to 1-31 Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
STANDARD HERMAN AD--> Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
Herrmann 40--> “Herrmann <-----
MD Higher Education Commission Near Completer
Insert future code here
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

South Shore Elementary teacher named finalist for Maryland Teacher of the Year

| September 17, 2019, 10:32 AM

South Shore Elementary School third grade teacher Teresa Beilstein

South Shore Elementary School third grade teacher Teresa Beilstein has been named a finalist for the 2019-2020 Maryland Teacher of the Year by the Maryland State Department of Education.

Beilstein, who was named Anne Arundel County Teacher of the Year in April, is one of seven finalists for the award. The others are: Brandi Janson of Carroll County, Jossie Perry of Cecil County, Michael Franklin of Frederick County, Paige L. Milanoski of Harford County, Madeline Hanington of Montgomery County, and Joshua Edwards of Washington County.

Liquified Creative Annapolis

“I couldn’t be more excited and honored to move forward representing our awesome teachers,” said Beilstein, who was surprised with the news in front of her third-grade class  by Superintendent George Arlotto, Board of Education members, and South Shore Principal Stacy Shafran. “The excitement that our county generates is just so awesome. I would not want to work anywhere else, and I can’t believe that I get to be the representative of so many amazing teachers who work so hard every day without the recognition.”

Beilstein is the fifth consecutive county teacher and seventh in the last nine years to be named a state finalist. Three AACPS teachers – Josh Carroll of South River High School in 2017-18, Linda Adamson of Mayo and Jessup elementary schools in 1993-94, and Patricia Neidhart of Broadneck High School in 1988-89 – have earned state Teacher of the Year honors.

A National Board Certified Teacher, Beilstein not only did her student teaching at South Shore, but also has spent her entire seven-year career there.

She is known as a teacher who quickly builds relationships with colleagues, students, and parents. She views it, in fact, as the most important ingredient to her healthy classroom.

“Thanks for teaching me everything I know, not just academically, but about myself,” a former student who is now thriving in middle school wrote in an endorsement letter that accompanied Beilstein’s nomination for Anne Arundel County Teacher of the Year.

State Superintendent of Schools Dr. Karen Salmon will announce Maryland’s Teacher of the Year at a banquet on October 25.

Nominations for the 2019-2020 Anne Arundel County Teacher of the Year are now being accepted.  Please click here for more information.

Severn Bank
Source :

Category: Local News, NEWS, Post To FB

About the Author - EOA Staff

Eye On Annapolis is a community based site focusing strictly on Anne Arundel County. These staff postings are general news postings made by our team of bloggers throughout the day and are not attributed to any one particular staff person.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter YouTube rss feed