--> Annapolis Restaurant Week <-----
--> <-----
--> Wes Adams For Anne Arundel Conty Circuit Court Judge <-----
Insert future code here--> 1-1 to 1-31 Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
STANDARD HERMAN AD--> Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
Herrmann 40--> “Herrmann <-----
MD Higher Education Commission Near Completer
Insert future code here
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

Lt. Governor Rutherford addresses Youth Service Awards

| September 03, 2019, 04:08 PM

The Governor’s Office on Service and Volunteerism recently hosted its inaugural Youth Service Awards ceremony with featured speaker Lt. Governor Boyd K. Rutherford. Among more than 100 applicants, 10 individuals and 3 groups were honored for their significant community service in Maryland.

“I was honored to meet these incredible youth awardees who have made the future of Maryland brighter by changing Maryland for the better,” said Lt. Governor Rutherford. “Thank you to the Governor’s Office on Service and Volunteerism for recognizing the significant influence of civic-minded and selfless youth. Through initiating the Youth Service Awards, we are encouraging a new generation of compassionate, community-minded individuals.”

Liquified Creative Annapolis

The awardees were selected through a competitive review process by a panel of distinguished community leaders and state representatives in charge of volunteer programs across Maryland. Families and mentors of the selected youth are invited to celebrate their contribution to communities.

“Maryland has fantastic youth who sacrifice their time for the betterment of our communities, and it is important to recognize their efforts,” said Steve McAdams, Executive Director of the Governor’s Office of Community Initiatives. “We hope to help cultivate our youth to be leaders in our state who champion qualities such as a service to others, respect for all communities, and an awareness of the issues that affect Marylanders every day.”

The following youth and youth groups were recipients of the Youth Service Awards:

Youth Individual Recipients 

  • Shreeya Khurana, Montgomery Blair High School
  • Makenzie Greenwood, Shiloh Middle School
  • Michaela West, St. Joseph’s Regional Catholic School
  • Ryan Freeman, Saints Peter & Paul High School
  • Brian Thompson, The John Carroll School
  • Ashley Williams, Chopticon High School
  • Celina Davis, Francis Scott Key High School
  • Lea Joy Peck, Kent Island High School
  • Noah Gainsburg, Friends School of Baltimore
  • Natalie Summers, homeschool

Youth Group Recipients

  • Our Minds Matter (Anne Arundel County)
  • Baltimore City College Writing Center (Baltimore City)
  • Sho’men Youth Swim Team Volunteer Club (Kent and Queen Anne’s Counties)

Category: Local News, NEWS

About the Author - EOA Staff

Eye On Annapolis is a community based site focusing strictly on Anne Arundel County. These staff postings are general news postings made by our team of bloggers throughout the day and are not attributed to any one particular staff person.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter YouTube rss feed