Herb McMillan For Anne Arundel County Executive
--> Annapolis Restaurant Week <-----
--> <-----
--> Wes Adams For Anne Arundel Conty Circuit Court Judge <-----
Insert future code here--> 1-1 to 1-31 Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
STANDARD HERMAN AD--> Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
Herrmann 40--> “Herrmann <-----
MD Higher Education Commission Near Completer
Insert future code here
1-14-22 to 3-8-22 <------
-- October 21 - 1-14-22 <---------
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

5 named as finalists for Teacher of the Year

| March 04, 2019, 10:29 AM

Educators from three elementary schools, one middle school, and one high school were named  as finalists for 2019 Anne Arundel County Public Schools Teacher of the Year.

The finalists are:

  • Aundrea Atwood-Starkey, a math teacher at Southern High School
  • Teresa Beilstein, a third grade teacher at South Shore Elementary School
  • David Britton, a social studies teacher at Magothy River Middle School
  • Carrie Deaver, a physical education teacher at Pasadena Elementary School
  • Samantha Klenkel Wilkinson, a third grade teacher at Cape St. Claire Elementary School

Schools Superintendent George Arlotto was joined by Board of Education members recently to surprise the finalists in their classrooms. The finalists were chosen by a panel of judges who reviewed their applications and observed them instructing students.

In addition, the following teachers were named finalists for the Independent Schools Teacher of the Year award:

  • Ellen Smith, a Spanish teacher at St. Mary’s High School
  • Keya Belt Robinson, a science teacher at St. Martin’s Lutheran School

The finalists will be among 46 public schools teachers and seven independent school teachers to be honored as Anne Arundel County Public Schools and the 21st Century Education Foundation celebrate the 33rd Annual Excellence in Education Awards Dinner at the BWI Marriott in Linthicum on Thursday, April 25, 2019. The Excellence in Education Awards will also honor local businesses that have forged critical partnerships with schools across the county.

The headline sponsors for this year’s Excellence in Education awards dinner are BGE and Comcast. For more details about the event or to purchase tickets and sponsorships, click here.

The following public school educators have been nominated by their schools and communities, and will also be honored at the event (semifinalists are noted with an asterisk):

  • Earl Anthony, Center of Applied Technology North
  • Bonita Bradway, Tyler Heights Elementary School*
  • Kyle Butler, Tracey’s Elementary School
  • Ashley Butters, Crofton Woods Elementary School
  • Angela Carbone, Severna Park Middle School
  • Laura Casciato, Central Middle School
  • Kimberly Collins, Chesapeake High School*
  • Melissa Connelly, Severna Park Elementary School
  • April Crovo, Mayo Elementary School
  • Laura Currey, Central Elementary School
  • Amy Degenhard, Jones Elementary School
  • Danyelle Edwards, Seven Oaks Elementary School
  • Elizabeth Ellis, Crofton Meadows Elementary School
  • Tully Fenner, Northeast High School
  • Eileen Foley, Corkran Middle School
  • Lyndsay Geddings, Folger McKinsey Elementary School
  • Courtney Gompf, Lindale Middle School
  • Cali Hallinin, Ridgeway Elementary School
  • Kristina Ladika, Arundel High School
  • Sean Lane, Phoenix Academy School*
  • Kyle Lynch, Deale Elementary School
  • Carla Matthews, Center of Applied Technology South
  • Amy Mattison, Southgate Elementary School
  • Robert Miller, Chesapeake Bay Middle School
  • Whitney Mitter, Crofton Middle School
  • Martin Noga, Annapolis High School
  • Lauren Anita Norris, Pershing Hill Elementary School
  • Brenda Osborne, Marley Middle School
  • Krista Parker, Old Mill High School
  • Erin Perkins, Quarterfield Elementary School
  • Eileen Perrot, Glendale Elementary School
  • Victoria Scalfaro, Lothian Elementary School
  • Erica Sellman, Annapolis Middle School
  • Sarah Serena, Waugh Chapel Elementary School*
  • Kathleen Smith, Fort Smallwood Elementary School
  • Michelle Soumah, Arundel Middle School
  • Amanda Spafford, Southern Middle School
  • Kimberly Travers, Meade Heights Elementary School*
  • Stacey Wirth, Glen Burnie High School
  • Jennifer Yerkey, Jacobsville Elementary School
  • Rebekah Yost, Point Pleasant Elementary School

The following independent school educators have been nominated by their schools and communities:

  • Nicole Allred, Annapolis Area Christian School
  • Summer Liberto, St Philip Neri Catholic School
  • Jennifer Morgan, St. Mary’s Elementary School
  • Regina O’Hara, Archbishop Spalding High School*
  • Christine Zito, The Summit School*

Severn Bank


Source :

Category: Local News, NEWS, Post To FB

About the Author - EOA Staff

Eye On Annapolis is a community based site focusing strictly on Anne Arundel County. These staff postings are general news postings made by our team of bloggers throughout the day and are not attributed to any one particular staff person.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter YouTube rss feed