May 30, 2023
Annapolis, US 70 F

Michelle Weisgerber named the winner of the 2017 Jan Hollmann Environmental Education Award

Michelle Weisgerber, the Signature Program Facilitator for Broadneck High School’s Environmental Literacy Signature Program, has been named the winner of the 2017 Jan Hollmann Environmental Education Award.

Weisgerber, Michelle Hollman Award 2017Weisgerber has been a leading force in helping Broadneck receive a Green Ribbon School designation from the U.S. Department of Education.

The award is named for the late Jan Hollmann, an environmental activist who created the first land trust in Maryland, now known as the Scenic Rivers Land Trust. Hollmann was also the catalyst for the passing of the Maryland Critical Area Act of 1984, which firmly outlines the responsibilities of the state and local jurisdictions regarding the impact of land development on natural habitats and aquatic resources.

Past recipients of the award include former Superintendent of Schools Kevin M. Maxwell (2012), Arlington Echo Outdoor Education Center teacher Suzanne Kilby Etgen (2011), and former state Senator Gerald Winegrad (1995).

Weisgerber received her award last week during a ceremony at Arlington Echo.

Source :
Previous Article

Hogan administration announce $11.7M for highway safety grants

Next Article

County plans $8 million on Ft. Smallwood Park improvements

You might be interested in …