--> Annapolis Restaurant Week <-----
--> <-----
--> Wes Adams For Anne Arundel Conty Circuit Court Judge <-----
Insert future code here--> 1-1 to 1-31 Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
STANDARD HERMAN AD--> Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
Herrmann 40--> “Herrmann <-----
MD Higher Education Commission Near Completer
Insert future code here
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

Benjamin S. Wechsler named Chairman of Chesapeake Bay Trust Board of Trustees

| July 12, 2017, 01:44 PM

Annapolis-based attorney Benjamin S. Wechsler has been named Chairman of the Chesapeake Bay Trust Board of Trustees, succeeding journalist Terence Smith, PBS Newshour Special Correspondent.  Smith served as Chairman from 2015-2017 and will remain connected with the Trust through its Trustees’ Council.

Wechsler, who was appointed to the Trust’s board in 2012, is a partner with the Annapolis office of Linowes and Blocher LLP where he practices real estate and environmental law.  His practice focuses on the county, state, and Federal laws that guide the  use and development of real property consistent with environmental, natural resource, and planning objectives.  He advises an array of real estate developers, institutional land owners, individuals, renewable energy developers, and not-for-profit clients in both traditional and “green” development efforts across the Chesapeake Bay watershed.

Wechsler is active in the community:  He serves as the Chairman of the Environmental Committee for the Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce, is a member of the Maryland State Bar Association, is a graduate of Leadership Anne Arundel, and formerly served as a board member for the Scenic Rivers Land Trust and Assateague Coastal Trust.  Wechsler has long combined an interest in natural resources and the law. He received his undergraduate degree in ecology and evolutionary biology from Princeton University and his Juris Doctor from The George Washington University Law School.

“The Trust is so lucky to have Ben at the helm for the next phase of the Trust’s growth,” said Jana Davis, the Trust’s executive director.  “Ben brings a broad environmental and land use background and proven boardroom leadership experience to the role of Chairman, and is just a wonderful, smart, dedicated person.”

The Trust is governed by a 19-member Board of Trustees that set policies relating to grant making, spending, investment, management, and governance. The 19-member Board consists of fourteen members appointed by the Governor, two ex-officio members of the State General Assembly named by the Senate President and Speaker of the House, and designees of the Secretaries of the Maryland Departments of Natural Resources, Environment, and Agriculture.

In addition to Mr. Wechsler, the following individuals will serve on the Trust’s board during the 2017-2018 fiscal year:  Dr. Erica Anthony, Morgan State University; Maryland State Senator John Astle; Joseph Farren, Powell Tate; Matthew Fleming, Maryland Department of Natural Resources; Carter Heim of HeimLantz CPA firm; Gary Jobson, World Cup sailor and President of Jobson Sailing; Virginia Kearney, Maryland Department of the Environment; Louise Lawrence, Maryland Department of Agriculture; Steve Linhard, Chesapeake Medical Imaging; Murray Leigh, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs; Dr. Thomas Miller, director of the Chesapeake Biological Laboratory of  the University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science; The Honorable Todd Morgan, St. Mary’s County Board of Commissioners;  Bryan Offutt, Under Armour; John Quinn, BG&E; House of Delegates Member Shane Robinson; Reverend Canon Angela Shepherd of the Episcopal Diocese of Maryland; and John Valliant of the Grayce B. Kerr Fund.

Severn Bank

Category: Businesses, LIFE IN THE AREA, Local News, NEWS

About the Author - EOA Staff

Eye On Annapolis is a community based site focusing strictly on Anne Arundel County. These staff postings are general news postings made by our team of bloggers throughout the day and are not attributed to any one particular staff person.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter YouTube rss feed