--> Annapolis Restaurant Week <-----
--> <-----
--> Wes Adams For Anne Arundel Conty Circuit Court Judge <-----
Insert future code here--> 1-1 to 1-31 Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
STANDARD HERMAN AD--> Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
Herrmann 40--> “Herrmann <-----
MD Higher Education Commission Near Completer
Insert future code here
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

AACPS names new chair, vice-chair of Board of Education

| July 18, 2017, 04:00 PM

The Board of Education of Anne Arundel County has elected Julie Hummer as president and Terry Gilleland as vice president for the 2017-2018 school year.

Hummer is an at-large member of the Board who was appointed in 2015. She has five children, all of whom attend Anne Arundel County Public Schools, and over the last year has served as a member of the Commission to Review Maryland’s Use of Assessments and Testing in Public Schools appointed by Gov. Larry Hogan.

Hummer previously taught students with learning disabilities and emotional disturbances in the Frederick County (Va.) and Fairfax County (Va.) school systems. Prior to becoming an educator, she was a branch manager and licensed investment counselor with First Union Bank.

Gilleland represents Legislative District 31 on the Board and was appointed in 2016. He served as the Student Member on the Board during the 1994-1995 school year, when he was a senior at North County High School.

A former state delegate, Gilleland has served on the Anne Arundel Workforce Development Corporation’s Board of Directors. He holds active volunteer leadership roles with Future Business Leaders of America and Junior Achievement of Maryland.

Today’s meeting was the first for new Student Member on the Board Lusia Cole, a rising senior at Chesapeake Science Point Public Charter School. Lusia is the 44th student member of the Board, and the only student on a local board in the nation with full voting rights.

Also serving on the Board are Teresa Milio Birge of Odenton, Eric Grannon of Davidsonville, Stacy Korbelak of Odenton, Patricia Nalley of Annapolis, and Maria Delores Sasso of Annapolis. The Board currently has one vacant at-large seat.

Severn Bank
Source :

Category: Local News, NEWS

About the Author - EOA Staff

Eye On Annapolis is a community based site focusing strictly on Anne Arundel County. These staff postings are general news postings made by our team of bloggers throughout the day and are not attributed to any one particular staff person.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter YouTube rss feed