--> Annapolis Restaurant Week <-----
--> <-----
--> Wes Adams For Anne Arundel Conty Circuit Court Judge <-----
Insert future code here--> 1-1 to 1-31 Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
STANDARD HERMAN AD--> Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
Herrmann 40--> “Herrmann <-----
MD Higher Education Commission Near Completer
Insert future code here
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

Niumatalolo named finalist for Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Trophy

| December 14, 2016, 07:36 PM

NiumataloloNavy head football coach Ken Niumatalolo is a finalist for the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Trophy it was announced today by the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and the Chick-Fil-A Peach Bowl.

Niumatalolo joins Paul Chryst of Wisconsin, P.J. Fleck of Western Michigan, Mike MacIntyre of Colorado and Chris Petersen of Washington as finalists.

“The head coaches named as finalists represent their programs with the highest ideals of scholarship,  leadership, and integrity on and off the field – the three pillars of legendary coach Bobby Dodd’s coaching philosophy,” said Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Chairman Percy Vaughn. “In addition to enjoying successful football seasons for each of their programs, these finalists have also been able to secure noteworthy APR scores and graduation rates, as well as a strong commitment to community service.”

“Dodd Trophy winners tell us each year it’s the most coveted coach of the year award in college football, and we’re thrilled to have such a diverse group from across the country who have distinguished themselves as finalists for it. These head coaches’ teams have enjoyed successful football seasons, while also succeeding in the classroom and in the community,” said Jim Terry, Chairman of the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation. “All of these finalists truly embody the type of leadership that Bobby Dodd valued.”

This year’s finalists represent four conferences and have combined for a 2016 record of 54-10. Overall, the five coaches have a combined 36 years of head coaching experience and 300 wins among them.

Finalists were selected by a panel consisting of all previous winners, national media, a member of the Dodd family and a College Football Hall of Fame member. Of note, winners of the award from the previous two years are not eligible to be finalists. 

The winner of the 2016 Dodd Trophy will be selected from the list of finalists by the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation, and will be announced in Atlanta during Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Week.

Niumatalolo has led Navy to a 9-4 record, including a 7-1 mark in the American Athletic Conference.  He led Navy to the AAC West Division title and a berth in the AAC Championship game.

Navy will take on Louisiana Tech (8-5) in the Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl on Friday, Dec. 23 at 4:30 PM (ET), 3:30 PM (CT) in Fort Worth, Texas.

Tickets for the game are available now by calling 1-800-US4-NAVY or online at:

Tickets prices are $30 (End Zone General Admission), $50 (Upper Level Sideline), $60 (Lower Level Goal Line) and $75 (Lower Level Sideline).  Donated tickets for midshipmen and enlisted personnel and their families are $60.

Source :

Category: LIFE IN THE AREA, NEWS, Sports

About the Author - EOA Staff

Eye On Annapolis is a community based site focusing strictly on Anne Arundel County. These staff postings are general news postings made by our team of bloggers throughout the day and are not attributed to any one particular staff person.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter YouTube rss feed