--> Annapolis Restaurant Week <-----
--> <-----
--> Wes Adams For Anne Arundel Conty Circuit Court Judge <-----
Insert future code here--> 1-1 to 1-31 Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
STANDARD HERMAN AD--> Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
Herrmann 40--> “Herrmann <-----
MD Higher Education Commission Near Completer
Insert future code here
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

31st Annual Excellence in Education program to honor top educators in county

| November 24, 2016, 01:24 PM

aacpsThirty-four public school teachers and seven independent school teachers will be honored on Wednesday, April 26, 2017, as Anne Arundel County Public Schools and the Annapolis & Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce celebrate the 31st annual Excellence in Education banquet at the BWI Marriott in Linthicum.

This event will also honor local businesses that have forged critical partnerships with schools across the county, directly benefitting AACPS’ 81,000 students. Nominations for Business Partner of the Year will be accepted this winter and details will be available here in early December.

The Excellence in Education event will culminate with the announcements of the 2017 Anne Arundel County Public and Independent School Teachers of the Year. The Public School Teacher of the Year will represent the county in the Maryland State Teacher of the Year competition.

“There is true magic happening inside our classrooms every day, and the opportunity to honor so many outstanding teachers in one setting is something I look forward to every year,” Superintendent of Schools George Arlotto said. “Our teachers go to incredible lengths to help our children succeed, and everyone in our county owes them a debit of gratitude.”

The following 34 public school educators have been nominated by their schools and communities:

  • Karin Abbott, Windsor Farm Elementary School
  • Lori Berry, Woodside Elementary School
  • Debra Biggs, Pasadena Elementary School
  • Kristen Brice, Richard Henry Lee Elementary School
  • Josalyn Brown, Crofton Woods Elementary School
  • Joshua Carroll, South River High School
  • Amy Chitwood, Rolling Knolls Elementary School
  • Alane Connolly, Shady Side Elementary School
  • Tammy Dronberger, Broadneck High School
  • Alma Durm, Ruth Parker Eason School
  • Amanda Embury, Frank Hebron-Harman Elementary School
  • Tricia Fisher, Broadneck Elementary School
  • Nancy Hack-Behringer, Mayo Elementary School
  • LaWanda Hoes, Corkran Middle School
  • Angela Holmes, Oak Hill Elementary School
  • Allison Johnson, Mary Moss @ J. Albert Adams Academy
  • Elizabeth Joy, South Shore Elementary School
  • Denise Lane, George Cromwell Elementary School
  • Kelly Lewis, Arundel Middle School
  • Janet Liimatta, Ferndale Early Education Center
  • Sally Paz y Minõ Wilson, Tyler Heights Elementary School
  • Tori Peddicord, Southern Middle School
  • Shelby Queen, Shipley’s Choice Elementary School
  • Sarah Rogers, Meade High School
  • Stacey Scofield, Mills Parole Elementary School
  • Timothy Smith, Folger McKinsey Elementary School
  • Deborah Sparby, Severna Park Middle School
  • Elizabeth Starnes, Southern High School
  • Denise Stephanos, Arundel High School
  • Robert Stojakovich, Magothy River Middle School
  • Virginia Sutherin, Old Mill High School
  • Lydia Teal, Central Elementary School
  • Gail Turk, Lindale Middle School
  • Suzy Wyatt, Davidsonville Elementary School

The following independent school educators have been nominated by their schools and communities:

  • Deborah Flynn, St. Mary’s High School
  • Margaret Kling, St. Mary’s Elementary School
  • Thomas Mach, Archbishop Spalding High School
  • Kathy Poerstel, Aleph Bet Jewish Day School
  • Kelly Rampmeyer, The Summit School
  • Margaret Sagi, St. Paul’s Lutheran School
  • Sharon Toms, St. Margaret’s Day School

Semifinalists will be announced in late December. Finalists will be chosen from that group and announced in early March.

For sponsorship information, please call Jennifer Sheppard, Program & Event Coordinator for the Annapolis & Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce, at 410-266-3960. Ticket information will be available in December.

Category: NEWS, Post To FB

About the Author - EOA Staff

Eye On Annapolis is a community based site focusing strictly on Anne Arundel County. These staff postings are general news postings made by our team of bloggers throughout the day and are not attributed to any one particular staff person.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter YouTube rss feed