Herb McMillan For Anne Arundel County Executive
--> Annapolis Restaurant Week <-----
--> <-----
--> Wes Adams For Anne Arundel Conty Circuit Court Judge <-----
Insert future code here--> 1-1 to 1-31 Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
STANDARD HERMAN AD--> Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
Herrmann 40--> “Herrmann <-----
MD Higher Education Commission Near Completer
Insert future code here
-- October 21 - 1-14-22 <---------
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

2016 Annie Awards to honor 7 local residents

| October 02, 2016, 04:52 PM | 0 Comments

The Arts Council of Anne Arundel County is pleased to announce the winners of the 2016 Annie Awards.  The Annie Awards were created in 2000 to recognize the contributions of local artists, educators, and arts patrons who reside in Anne Arundel County. This year seven people will be honored.

Arts Patron- Bea Poulin

Working within County Government she has fostered arts and local history projects, Founding President Muddy Creek Artists Guild Inc,, Officer and Board Member Arundel Community Agency. 

Arts Educator- Dianne Rosso

Glen Burnie High School Dance Teacher for over 43 years she has taught over 13,000 students, organized dance outreach programs and performances in the Community.

Literary Arts- Steve Frantzich

Author of over one dozen books and a Professor of Political Science at the USNA, he is volunteer founder and director of Books For International Goodwill (B.I.G.) shipping over 2.4 million books to developing countries. 

Historic Arts – Robert L. Worden

Author and historian who has chronicled the history of St. Mary’s Parish and the local Catholic community through his writing and volunteer service on dozens of boards and commissions. Co-founder Annapolis History Consortium. Founding member Annapolis Heritage Commission. 

Visual Arts- Jean Brinton Jaecks

Plein Air Landscape painter of regional and national renown who teaches art students at St. John’s College, National Arboretum and Renwick Gallery at the Smithsonian Art Museum . 

Performing Arts- Pamela Moore

Director of the National Ballet Institute for the Arts National Ballet Company, Moore is Co- Chair for the Board of Examiners of the Cecchetti Council of America and principal dancer with The National Ballet for over 30 years.

Lifetime Achievement- Joe Dickey

Founding member of the Chesapeake Woodturners, expert on the physics of the banjo, Visual Artist. Musician, Arts Educator, and twice President of the Maryland Federation of Art and former board memberOf the American Association of Woodturners, he is recognized regionally and nationally for his artwork created from Maryland’s Wye Oak.

The awards will be given at a presentation ceremony held at 7:30 p.m. in the Francis Scott Key Auditorium at St. John’s College in Annapolis on Wednesday October 12th. For more information, please call 410-222-7949.

The Arts Council of Anne Arundel County provides grant funding and support to over forty nonprofit organizations. Providing a resource for the cultural arts community through advocacy, funding, programming, and promotions; the Arts Council supports a variety of groups that include Maryland Hall, Anne Arundel County Trust for Preservation, and the Captain Avery Museum.  The Arts Council administers the Arts-in-Education Program serving both public and private Anne Arundel County Schools, which provides grant funding to bring performances and artists into auditoriums and classrooms. 

For more information about the Arts Council of Anne Arundel County and to find out more about the Annie Awards and membership call 410-222-7949 or visit www.acaac.org.

Category: Crime News, LIFE IN THE AREA, Local News, NEWS

About the Author - EOA Staff

Eye On Annapolis is a community based site focusing strictly on Anne Arundel County. These staff postings are general news postings made by our team of bloggers throughout the day and are not attributed to any one particular staff person.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter YouTube rss feed