--> Annapolis Restaurant Week <-----
--> <-----
--> Wes Adams For Anne Arundel Conty Circuit Court Judge <-----
Insert future code here--> 1-1 to 1-31 Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
STANDARD HERMAN AD--> Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
Herrmann 40--> “Herrmann <-----
MD Higher Education Commission Near Completer
Insert future code here
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

Anne Arundel County Public Library appoints new Executive Board

| July 04, 2016, 01:27 PM | 0 Comments

The Anne Arundel County Public Library Board of Trustees recently elected its FY 2017 executive committee and approved a new member at its June meeting. The slate of officers include:

  • Donald E. Roland – Chairman
  • Joyce C. Miller – Vice Chairman
  • Benjamin J. Birge – Treasurer
  • James Harle – Secretary
  • M. Hall Worthington, Jr. – Director

Ms. Joan C. Beck and Ms. JanElaine Smith will continue their three-year term as directors of the board. The remainder of the executive board serve one-year terms. The Board of Trustees is the governing body of the Anne Arundel County Public Library. It is comprised of volunteers representing all areas of our county. Trustees come to their volunteer roles with a range of experiences and backgrounds, and a strong desire to ensure the long-term vitality of our public libraries. 

The board also recently approved Charles M. Maher, Jr. of Glen Burnie, Md., as a new member. A retired employee of the National Security Agency, Mr. Maher currently serves on the board of his family-owned business Maher’s Florist and is the former president of the Pasadena Business Association.

Chairman Roland has served on the library board since 2013 and is a founding member of the Anne Arundel County Public Library Foundation, serving on its executive committee. He is also on the Board of Trustees of the University of Maryland Baltimore Foundation, the Board of Trustees of the Hammond-Harwood House, and is a member of the Annapolis Rotary Club where he is Chair of the Ethics Committee and the Photography Committee. 

Mr. Roland, of Annapolis, Md., spent his entire career in printing and advertising, retiring in 2006 as Chairman of Vertis Communications, one of the world’s largest printing and advertising firms.

Vice Chairman Miller has been the Medical Librarian at Anne Arundel Medical Center for the past 30 years. She currently serves as co-chair of the CME/Medical Library Committee and is a member of various committees at the medical system. Ms. Miller received the 2015 AAMC Nursing Colleague Excellence Award, presented annually to a teammate for demonstrating extraordinary care. She is a resident of Annapolis, Md.

Treasurer Birge, a member of the board since 2015, is currently the County Stat Manager in the Office of the County Executive for Prince George’s County. Previously, he served as Deputy Budget Director for Prince George’s County and Associate Vice President for Governmental Relations at the University of Maryland University College. He resides in Odenton, Md.

Secretary Harle, a member of the board since 2004, served for 40 years as a Navy civilian, predominantly at the Naval Academy working with computers and supervision of the server management team. He is a resident of Tracey’s Landing, Md.

Director Worthington is the immediate past chairman of the Library’s Board of Trustees and has served as a member of the organization since 1998.  In his professional career, he served as Vice President and Sales Manager of the Carey Machinery and Supply Company, Inc., and held similar positions with the Industrial Supply Corporation, and D.S. Pipe and Supply. He is a resident of Crownsville, Md.

The Board of Trustees meets at Library headquarters on the third Thursday of each month except during July and August. In April and October, the meetings are held at branch locations. All meetings are open to the public. For more information visit


Category: Local News, NEWS

About the Author - EOA Staff

Eye On Annapolis is a community based site focusing strictly on Anne Arundel County. These staff postings are general news postings made by our team of bloggers throughout the day and are not attributed to any one particular staff person.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter YouTube rss feed