--> Wes Adams For Anne Arundel Conty Circuit Court Judge <-----
Insert future code here--> 1-1 to 1-31 Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
STANDARD HERMAN AD--> Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
Herrmann 40--> “Herrmann <-----
MD Higher Education Commission Near Completer
Insert future code here
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

Glen Burnie’s Carolyn Williams elected as student member of Board of Education

| May 03, 2016, 01:07 PM | 0 Comments

Carolyn Williams, a junior at Glen Burnie High School, was elected by members of the Chesapeake Regional Association of Student Councils today to be the 2016-2017 student member of the Anne Arundel County Board of Education (SMOB).

Jacob Baumgart of Arundel High School and Molly Fitzpatrick of Broadneck High School were the other finalists for the position.

Carolyn Williams2Carolyn’s name will be forwarded to Governor Larry Hogan, who must make the formal appointment. She would be the third SMOB from Glen Burnie High School, and would succeed current student member Jacob Horstkamp of North County High School, whose one-year term expires in June. Former Glen Burnie students Sanford J. Witcher (1992-93) and Brandon Van Bibber (2001-02) also served as SMOBs.

Carolyn, a student in the BioMedical Allied Health Program (BMAH) at Glen Burnie, is currently the Programs of Choice Liaison to CRASC. She also serves on the school’s BMAH Advisory Board and is a member of Glen Burnie’s Student Government Association.

“I’m still a little overwhelmed right now, but I am just so thankful,” Carolyn said shortly after being elected. “Hearing all the students chant for me is a moment that I will never be able to forget.”

Carolyn, who is an avid bowler outside of school, said her priority she wants to get students more involved in their education.

“I hope to develop strong relationships with all of the Board members and strong relationships throughout the entire county,” she said.

Upon appointment, Carolyn will become the 43rd student member of the Board. Students have held a seat on the Board since 1974, when Andover High School’s Jeffrey Robinson served in an advisory capacity. Anne Arundel’s student member has had full voting rights since 1975, and is the only member of a local school board in the nation to have that status.

If appointed, Carolyn would assume her seat on July 1.

Source: AACPS

[do action=”blackwall-hitch”/]

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


About the Author - EOA Staff

Eye On Annapolis is a community based site focusing strictly on Anne Arundel County. These staff postings are general news postings made by our team of bloggers throughout the day and are not attributed to any one particular staff person.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter YouTube rss feed