February 25, 2024
Annapolis, US 38 F

Comcast Foundation awards $10,000 in scholarships to Anne Arundel students

Comcast-LogoThe Comcast Foundation today announced the 2016 recipients of its annual Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program awards in Maryland. The Program recognizes students who strive to achieve their potential, who are catalysts for positive change in their communities, who are involved in their schools and who serve as models for their fellow students. The philosophy behind the program is to give young people every opportunity to prepare for the future and to engage them in their communities. The program also demonstrates the importance of civic involvement, and the value placed on civic involvement by the business community.

“I would like to congratulate these outstanding students who strive to improve their communities and show great commitment to academic excellence,” said Maryland Governor Larry Hogan. “Thanks to support from community partners like Comcast, we can help ensure today’s students become the next generation of exceptional leaders.”

Comcast, joined by Maryland Lt. Governor Boyd K. Rutherford; Maryland House Speaker, Michael E. Busch; and other local elected officials and school administrators, recognized the students at a special event held Wednesday, March 23, at Maryland Hall for the Creative Arts in Annapolis. One hundred and nine recipients of the 2016 Maryland Leaders and Achievers® scholarships received $1,000. Stephon Moody, a senior at Baltimore Renaissance Academy in Baltimore was awarded a $10,000 Comcast Founders Scholarship – instituted in honor of Ralph J. Roberts, Founder and Chairman Emeritus of Comcast Corporation – for a total of $119,000 awarded this year to Maryland high school students.

“We are honored to recognize the accomplishments of these Leaders and Achievers Scholarship winners.  They demonstrate leadership in school activities and share a strong commitment to community service,” said Mary McLaughlin, Senior Vice President of Comcast’s Beltway Region. “We are excited to support them as they prepare for the next chapter in their educational careers.”

To date, Comcast has awarded more than $25 million to nearly 25,000 Leaders and Achievers Scholarship winners.

2016 Comcast Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Recipients from Anne Arundel County

  • Zoe Bell of Broadneck High School in Annapolis
  • Bradley Donelan of Northeast High School in Pasadena
  • Emma Gregory of South River High School in Edgewater
  • Maya Kelly of Chesapeake High School in Pasadena
  • Carmen Lau of North County High School in Glen Burnie
  • Christopher Lawrence of Glen Burnie High School
  • Brianna Mentle of River Hill High School in Edgewater
  • Luis Reyes of Old Mill High School in Millersville
  • Cullen Taylor of Annapolis High School
  • Eric Zhao of Meade Senior High School in Ft. Meade

[do action=”rams-head-intro”/]

Previous Article

Schuh participates in national opioid taskforce

Next Article

LUMA: Art in Darkness

You might be interested in …