January 31, 2023
Annapolis, US 38 F

Finalists names in Teacher of the Year Award

Teacher of the Year Finalists 2016Educators from three high schools, one middle school, and one elementary school make up the field of five finalists announced today for the 2015-16 Anne Arundel County Public Schools Teacher of the Year. The educators will be among 42 top educators to be honored at the 30th annual Excellence in Education banquet at the BWI Marriott in Linthicum on April 25, 2016.

The public school finalists, selected from a field of nine semifinalists, are:

  • Carol Bak, a Spanish teacher at Chesapeake High School
  • Katrina Griffin, a German teacher at North County High School
  • Sharon Mattoon, a kindergarten teacher at Solley Elementary School
  • Alexis Pogonowski, an AVID teacher at Southern High School
  • Kathleen Soares, a science teacher at Crofton Middle School

In addition to the public school finalists, the following educators are nominated for the 2016 Independent Schools Teacher of the Year:

  • Melissa Hildt, Archbishop Spalding High School
  • Stephanie Lotze, St. Mary’s High School
  • Gretchen Moran, St. Anne’s School of Annapolis

The banquet is presented annually in partnership by Anne Arundel County Public Schools and the Annapolis & Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce. In addition to outstanding teachers, the banquet also will honor local business and community partners that have forged critical partnerships with schools across the county, directly benefitting AACPS’ nearly 80,000 students.

Superintendent George Arlotto was joined by Board Members and chamber officials as they surprised the finalists today by visiting classrooms with bouquets of flowers.

The finalists will be interviewed by a panel made up of educators, administrators, students, and business leaders. The Public Schools Teacher of the Year will represent Anne Arundel County at the state Teacher of the Year competition later this year.

Also being honored at the event are:

  • Linda Ancin, Freetown Elementary School
  • Rouyan Barill, Van Bokkelen Elementary School
  • Alyson Bradford, Odenton Elementary School
  • Laura Casciato, Bates Middle School
  • Danielle Channell, Germantown Elementary School
  • Dawn Conway, Hillsmere Elementary School
  • Laura Dembeck, Frank Hebron-Harman Elementary School
  • Casey Dunleavy, Quarterfield Elementary School
  • Terri Duswalt, Southern Middle School
  • Elizabeth Entwisle, Brooklyn Park Middle School
  • Gredel Funk, Pasadena Elementary School
  • Tonia Haislip, Mary Moss @ J. Albert Adams Academy
  • Nicole Hughes, Windsor Farm Elementary School
  • Karen Jones, MacArthur Middle School
  • Melissa Kelly, Lake Shore Elementary School
  • Amy Kreglow, Glendale Elementary School
  • Michael Kudlawiec, Meade Middle School
  • Shaila Kulkarni, South River High School
  • Ellen Kusterer, Meade High School
  • Melissa Major, Bodkin Elementary School (semifinalist)
  • Patricia Medeiros, Monarch Global Academy
  • Elizabeth Parker, Chesapeake Bay Middle School
  • Mary Ann Perret, Davidsonville Elementary School (semifinalist)
  • William Poist, Lindale Middle School
  • Michele Polk, Woodside Elementary School
  • Patricia Price, Jones Elementary School
  • Melissa Quigley, Broadneck High School (semifinalist)
  • Victoria Reed, Brooklyn Park Elementary School
  • Christine Rosenbloom, Severna Park Middle School
  • Cheryl Slack, Belvedere Elementary School
  • Stacey Swingle, Oakwood Elementary School
  • Kate Tedesco, Tracey’s Elementary School (semifinalist)
  • Elizabeth Werner, George Cromwell Elementary School
  • Kelli Wirdzek, Richard Henry Lee Elementary School

The event will also honor the following business and community partners for their contributions to county schools:

  • Vuong’s Martial Arts
  • iJET International
  • Pasadena Business Association
  • Rockwell Collins
  • The James and Sylvia Earl Simulation to Advance Innovation and Learning (SAIL) Center, Anne Arundel Medical Center
  • Dean Cowherd of Natural Resources Conservation Service of the USDA
  • Ruppert Landscape Management Forestville Branch
  • Dogwood Acres
  • First Command Financial Services
  • Bowie Baysox
  • Franklin Toys
  • Pathways Anne Arundel Medical Center

Tickets for the event are $55 each.  For sponsorship information and ticket orders, visitwww.aaaccc.org. For other information, please call 410-266-3960.

[do action=”blackwall-hitch”/]

Previous Article

SPF 800: Evolve Shines a Light on Sunscreens

Next Article

Crash, hazmat snarls traffic on Route 3 in Gambrills

You might be interested in …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *