MD Higher Education Commission Near Completer
Insert future code here
1-14-22 to 3-8-22 <------
-- October 21 - 1-14-22 <---------
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

31 AACPS students to be honored at “A Tribute to Women of Color”

| March 01, 2016, 11:35 AM | 0 Comments

aacpsRecognizing the focus and ambition it takes to be successful academic achievers and community contributors, the A Tribute to Women of Color (ATWOC) organization will honor the work of 31 young men and women from across the county at its 23rd annual awards luncheon on Saturday, March 5, 2016.

More than 120 students applied for this year’s Future Leader Awards, which are designed to encourage and inspire high school students with minority heritage who show potential to continue their roles as student leaders.

A variety of monetary gifts from community organizations and private donors, scholarships to Morgan State University, and other specific awards will be revealed at the luncheon.

This year’s A Tribute to Women of Color Future Leader Award recipients are:

  • Tynesha Allen, Old Mill High School
  • Tiana Andrews, Southern High School
  • Melissa Pineda Brown, Annapolis High School
  • William Clark, Northeast High School
  • Alexis Coby, North County High School
  • Makayla Colbert, Northeast High School
  • Brett Creek, Southern High School
  • Te’Auna Sanders-Criner, Annapolis High School
  • Maliyah Davis, Meade High School
  • Jaret Dillard, Arundel High School
  • Alexandra Espeut, South River High School
  • Noah Foster, Arundel High School
  • Edward Goode II, Arundel High School
  • Tyler Hood, Old Mill High School
  • Tiana Johnson, Arundel High School
  • Cooper Jones, Old Mill High School
  • Rabia Kashmiri, North County High School
  • Maya Kelly, Chesapeake High School
  • James Keys, Chesapeake High School
  • Hillary Maynard, Broadneck High School
  • Rayah McIlwain, Old Mill High School
  • Micah McMillan, Meade High School
  • Raelyn Moreland, South River High School
  • Briana Nero, Old Mill High School
  • Breonna Proctor, Broadneck High School
  • Alexsis Robinson, North County High School
  • Tiffany Rubio, Old Mill High School
  • Nicholette Scholl-Henson, Northeast High School
  • Tayshaunna Spencer, Old Mill High School
  • Janay Wells, Arundel High School

Travis Belt, a 2015 graduate of Indian Creek School who is now attending Susquehanna University, will also be honored at the event. The luncheon also honors women called “unsung heroines” who have significantly created social change through their efforts.

The luncheon will be held from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the Doubletree Hotel, located at 210 Holiday Court in Annapolis. For tickets, call 410-279-0999.

Source: AACPS

[do action=”blackwall-hitch”/]

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,


About the Author - EOA Staff

Eye On Annapolis is a community based site focusing strictly on Anne Arundel County. These staff postings are general news postings made by our team of bloggers throughout the day and are not attributed to any one particular staff person.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter YouTube rss feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.