June 24, 2024
Annapolis, US 86 F

City, County form workgroup to study adequate facilities

annapoliscitylogorCounty Executive Steve Schuh and Annapolis Mayor Mike Pantelides today announced their two jurisdictions will form a workgroup to study adequate public facilities issues. 

The goal of the workgroup is to produce a series of legislative recommendations for both the County Council and the City Council on adequate public facilities legislation, addressing issues of overcrowding at area schools.

“To grow responsibly, our two jurisdictions need to coordinate our efforts,” said County Executive Steve Schuh. “Our schools pull from both the city and county. We need to ensure consistency in policy when it comes to responsible development.”

“Working together to identify ways we can address overcrowding at area schools is paramount to the success of both the county and city,” Mayor Pantelides said.  “I am grateful to the workgroup for volunteering as they begin creating guidelines to confront this critical issue.” 

The workgroup will meet Tuesday, February 2 with the following members from the city and the county serving:

• John Hammond, Anne Arundel County, Budget Officer

• Chris Phipps, Anne Arundel County, Director of Public Works

• Larry Tom, Anne Arundel County, Planning and Zoning Office

• Greg Stewart, Anne Arundel County Public Schools, Senior Manager of Planning

• Allison Pickard, Anne Arundel County School Board

• Chris Soldano, Anne Arundel County, Assistant Planning & Zoning Officer

• Amalie Brandenburg, Anne Arundel County Executive Office, Education Liaison 

• John Grasso, Anne Arundel County Councilman, District 2

• Michael Peroutka, Anne Arundel County Councilman, District 5

• Chris Trumbauer, Anne Arundel County Councilman, District 6

• Alex Szachnowicz, Anne Arundel County Public Schools, Chief Operating Officer

• Solon Webb, Anne Arundel County Board of Education, District 30

• Greg Swain, Esq., Anne Arundel County 

• Sheila Finlayson, City of Annapolis, Alderwoman Ward 4

• Jared Littman, City of Annapolis, Alderman Ward 5

• Ross Arnett, City of Annapolis, Alderman Ward 8

• Pete Gutwald, City of Annapolis, Director of Planning & Zoning

• David Jarrel, City of Annapolis, Director of  Public Works

• Trisha Irvin, City of Annapolis, Chair of Education Commission

• Eric Devito, Ribera Development

• Elliot Powell, White Hall Development LLC

• Jim Krapf, Elm Street Development

• Phillip Dales, Esq. Hyatt & Weber, P.A.

• David Katz, Esq., Hogan Companies

[do action=”blackwall-hitch”/]

Previous Article

March 18th, Anne Arundel to celebrate Maryland Day 2016

Next Article

7-Year old girl reports sex offense in Glen Burnie, police investigating possible related burglary

You might be interested in …