December 5, 2023
Annapolis, US 47 F

9 semi-finalists named for Teacher of the Year

Nine educators from all levels of the public school system were named today as semifinalists for the 2015-16 Anne Arundel County Public Schools Teacher of the Year award by AACPS and the Annapolis and Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce. The semifinalists are:

  • toySemifinalists16Melissa Major, Bodkin Elementary School
  • Melissa Quigley, Broadneck High School
  • Carol Bak, Chesapeake High School
  • Kathleen Soares, Crofton Middle School
  • Mary Ann Perret, Davidsonville Elementary School
  • Katrina Griffin, North County High School
  • Sharon Mattoon, Solley Elementary School
  • Alexis Pogonowski, Southern High School
  • Kate Tedesco, Tracey’s Elementary School

The semifinalists will be among 39 public school and three independent school educators to be honored at the 30th annual Excellence in Education banquet at the BWI Marriott in Linthicum on April 25, 2016.  In addition to naming the 2016 Anne Arundel County Public Schools Teacher of the Year, who will represent Anne Arundel County in the statewide competition later this year, the Anne Arundel County Independent Schools Teacher of the Year will also be announced at this event.

The event will also honor local businesses that have forged critical partnerships with schools across the county, directly benefiting AACPS’ nearly 80,000 students.  Business partnership nomination forms can be found here.

Tickets for the event are $55.00 each.  For sponsorship information and ticket orders, click here. For other information, please call 410-266-3960.

Source: AACPS

[do action=”blackwall-hitch”/]

Previous Article

Annapolis standoff ends peacefully

Next Article

Hospice Cup seeks artists

You might be interested in …