MD Higher Education Commission Near Completer
Insert future code here
1-14-22 to 3-8-22 <------
-- October 21 - 1-14-22 <---------
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

42 county teachers to be honored for excellence in education

| December 03, 2015, 04:01 PM | 1 Comment

apple-teacherThirty-nine public school teachers and three independent school teachers will be honored on Monday, April 25, 2016, as Anne Arundel County Public Schools and the Annapolis & Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce celebrate the 30th annual Excellence in Education banquet at the BWI Marriott in Linthicum.

This event will also honor local businesses that have forged critical partnerships with schools across the county, directly benefitting AACPS’ 80,000 students.  The Chamber of Commerce is currently accepting online nominations for Business Partner of the Year. To nominiate a business partner for the 2016 award, click here.

The Excellence in Education event will culminate with the announcements of the 2016 Anne Arundel County Public and Independent School Teachers of the Year.  The Public School Teacher of the Year will represent the county in the Maryland State Teacher of the Year competition.

“Teachers across our county do incredible work for our students every single day on so many levels,” Superintendent George Arlotto said. “It is an honor to be able to pay tribute to them at this annual event.”

The following public school educators have been nominated by their schools and communities:

  • Linda Ancin, Freetown Elementary School
  • Carol Bak, Chesapeake High School
  • Rouyan Barill, Van Bokkelen Elementary School
  • Alyson Bradford, Odenton Elementary School
  • Laura Casciato, Bates Middle School
  • Danielle Channell, Germantown Elementary School
  • Dawn Conway, Hillsmere Elementary School
  • Laura Dembeck, Frank Hebron-Harman Elementary School
  • Casey Dunleavy, Quarterfield Elementary School
  • Terri Duswalt, Southern Middle School
  • Elizabeth Entwisle, Brooklyn Park Middle School
  • Gredel Funk, Pasadena Elementary School
  • Katrina Griffin, North County High School
  • Tonia Haislip, Mary Moss @ J. Albert Adams Academy
  • Nicole Hughes, Windsor Farm Elementary School
  • Karen Jones, MacArthur Middle School
  • Melissa Kelly, Lake Shore Elementary School
  • Amy Kreglow, Glendale Elementary School
  • Michael Kudlawiec, Meade Middle School
  • Shaila Kulkarni, South River High School
  • Ellen Kusterer, Meade High School
  • Melissa Major, Bodkin Elementary School
  • Sharon Mattoon, Solley Elementary School
  • Patricia Medeiros, Monarch Global Academy
  • Elizabeth Parker, Chesapeake Bay Middle School
  • Mary Ann Perret, Davidsonville Elementary School
  • Alexis Pogonowski, Southern High School
  • William Poist, Lindale Middle School
  • Michele Polk, Woodside Elementary School
  • Patricia Price, Jones Elementary School
  • Melissa Quigley, Broadneck High School
  • Victoria Reed, Brooklyn Park Elementary School
  • Christine Rosenbloom, Severna Park Middle School
  • Cheryl Slack, Belvedere Elementary School
  • Kathleen Soares, Crofton Middle School
  • Stacey Swingle, Oakwood Elementary School
  • Kate Tedesco, Tracey’s Elementary School
  • Elizabeth Werner, George Cromwell Elementary School
  • Kelli Wirdzek, Richard Henry Lee Elementary School

The following independent school educators have been nominated by their schools and communities:

Semifinalists from the field of 39 public school nominees will be announced in late December.  Finalists will be chosen from that group and announced in late February or early March.

For sponsorship information, please call Jennifer Sheppard, Program & Event Coordinator for the Annapolis & Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce, at 410-266-3960.  Ticket information will be available in December.

Source: AACPS

[do action=”blackwall-hitch”/]

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


About the Author - EOA Staff

Eye On Annapolis is a community based site focusing strictly on Anne Arundel County. These staff postings are general news postings made by our team of bloggers throughout the day and are not attributed to any one particular staff person.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter YouTube rss feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.