June 23, 2024
Annapolis, US 94 F

Schuh names bicycle advisory board

[do action=”fringe”/]

BikeCounty Executive Steve Schuh  announced the appointment of 11 citizen members and 10 ex officio government representatives to the Anne Arundel County Bicycle Advisory Commission (“AACBAC”), who will advise the county on bicycle related policy and budgetary issues.

“This is a vital step in building a safe, interconnected network of trails, and on road protected bike lanes for transportation and recreation” said Schuh.  “This is a key element of our JumpStart Anne Arundel capital program and will help make our county the best place to live, work and start a business in Maryland.”      

“The primary concern for cyclists riding home, or to work, school or even travelling and shopping is not whether they are on a city, county, state road or trail,” said AACBAC Chair Jon Korin. “They just want to travel safely. This commission brings all of the parties together to build out a safe bike route network.” 

This new Commission is another step among several other recent initiatives to improve bicycle safety and encourage bicycle travel around the county.  Anne Arundel County and BikeAAA have already collaborated on Bike to Work Day, the recent Lifeline100 community bike event, recently installed East Coast Greenway signs, and bike safety rodeos provided for more than 1,000 children. In addition, through a grant from the Maryland Highway Safety Office, more than 500 free bike helmets have been provided to county children.

Members of the new commission include:

Citizen Appointments

  • Jon Korin, Chair, Severna Park
  • Brian Biddle, Severna Park
  • Evelyn Cook, Severna Park
  • Ernest Freeland, Annapolis
  • Michael Golden, Millersville
  • Jack Keene, Severna Park
  • Marita Roos, Annapolis
  • Stoney Simons, Galesville
  • Carol Vilardo, Annapolis
  • Rick Watts , Pasadena
  • Cynthia Wyatt, Linthicum

Ex Officio

  • Dawn Thomas, Recreation & Parks
  • Jim Schroll, Public Works
  • Jon Mayer, Planning & Zoning
  • Diane Croghan, Office of County Executive
  • Cpls Kam Cooke, Police Bike Patrol
  • Cpl.  Dominic Scali, Police Bike Patrol
  • Capt. Frank Tewey, Police Community Relations
  • Maury Chaput, Anne Arundel Community College
  • Rick Gordon, City of Annapolis, Transportation
  • Tony Campbell, State Highways Administration, Bike/Ped Director

The Commission will hold its first meeting today.

[do action=”blackwall-hitch”/]

Previous Article

Who’s your hero?

Next Article

Holiday Volunteer Guide now available

You might be interested in …