March 27, 2023
Annapolis, US 58 F

Baysox are Eastern League Champions

Baysox ChampsThe Bowie Baysox made history Sept. 19, winning their first-ever Eastern League Championship with a 7-2 win against the Reading Fightin Phils in front of an enthusiastic crowd at Prince George’s Stadium.

Garabez Rosa was the hero for the Baysox hitting two home runs in the game on the way to being named Eastern League Championship Series Most Valuable Player.

Pitching on short rest, Baysox starting pitchers Joe Gunkel and Nick Additon combined to throw eight innings for the Baysox in the win. The duo allowed two runs on six hits while striking out seven and walking one as Additon earned the win. Baysox closer Andrew Triggs pitched a scoreless ninth inning for the Baysox to secure the victory.

Cam Perkins drew first blood for Reading with a solo home run against Baysox starter Joe Gunkel to lead off the fourth inning. 

The Baysox responded in the bottom of the inning against Reading starter Reinier Roibal. Trey Mancini drew a lead-off walk, and Garabez Rosa followed with a one-out home run to left field to give Bowie a 2-1 lead. 

Rosa hit his second home run of the game in the bottom of the sixth inning against Reading reliever Edubray Ramos to give the Baysox a 3-1 lead.

Rene Garcia hit a solo home run in the top of the seventh to bring Reading within a run, 3-2.

But the Baysox added some insurance runs in the bottom of the seventh. Mike Yastrzemski doubled to left-center field against Reading reliever Jimmy Cordero, and Trey Mancini walked during the next at bat. Quincy Latimore then doubled to left field, scoring Yastrzemski and Mancini to put the Baysox up, 5-2.

The Baysox added on in the bottom of the eighth. After a lead-off walk from Ozzie Martinez, Corban Joseph doubled to left-center field off Reading reliever Hoby Milner. Yastrzemski then hit a sacrifice fly to score Martinez. Mancini reached first on a fielding error by Reading shortstop J.P. Crawford, which scored Joseph, giving the Baysox a 7-2 lead and the eventual win. 

Reading starting pitcher Roibal got the loss. He threw 4.1 innings, allowing two earned runs on five hits while striking out three. 

For the Baysox, this was the first Eastern League Championship in the franchise’s 23-year history. Prior to this season, the Baysox had never won a single playoff series. The Baysox would like to thank all of the fans for their support during the 2015 season. We look forward to seeing everyone again in 2016! 

Video Highlights of the Baysox Eastern League Championship clinching game and celebration can be found here:

[do action=”blackwall-hitch”/]

Previous Article

Hammond-Harwood House St. Anne’s cemetery tour

Next Article

Severna Park Elementary teacher named finalist for Teacher of the Year

You might be interested in …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *