June 16, 2024
Annapolis, US 62 F

AACC board welcomes new members, changes officers

[do action=”fringe”/]

Anne Arundel Community College’s Board of Trustees has elected a new chair and vice chair and is welcoming two new members appointed by Maryland Gov. Larry Hogan.

Arthur D. Ebersberger of Severna Park, who had served as vice chair last year, will return to the chairmanship. First appointed to the board in 1998, Ebersberger previously was chair 2004-2008 and in addition to last year, served as vice chair from 2003-2004. The Rev. Dr. Diane R. Dixon-Proctor of Glen Burnie, who was chair during the 2014-2015 year, will become vice chair. She also had served as vice chair from 2012-2014. Ebersberger is senior vice president of CBIZ Benefits and Insurance Services Inc. Dixon-Proctor is senior paster of Lincoln Park United Methodist Church in Washington, D.C. and also owns a fashion boutique, Occasions by Diane. Both are active in community organizations, with Ebersberger’s service focusing on business and economic organizations and Dixon-Proctor’s service mainly with faith-based justice and community groups.

New to the board are Sandra E. Moore, MA, RT(R)(M), of Pasadena, and AACC student member Matthew Hortopan of Annapolis. Moore was appointed to a six-year term and replaces Victoria K. Fretwell. As a student member, Hortopan serves a one-year term. He replaces former AACC student Devanice Ball who has transferred to Morgan State University. 

Moore is director of the radiography program in the Schools of Medical Imaging at The Johns Hopkins Hospital Department of Radiology in Baltimore. She came to that position in 1999 after serving as the clinical coordinator for AACC’s radiologic technology programs from 1996-1999. In addition, she is a site visitor for the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology, a CPR instructor and has worked as a consultant in the field. She helps coordinate continuing education programs for radiologic technologists and frequently makes presentations on specific topics in the profession. She also has served as the chair for the American Roentgen Ray Society advisory panel for the continuing education of radiologic technologists. She earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Education from George Mason University, a Radiography certificate from The Johns Hopkins Hospital and also is certified in Mammography. She has a Master of Arts in Leadership in Teaching from the College of Notre Dame (now Notre Dame of Maryland University).

Hortopan is beginning his second year at AACC where he is majoring in Business Administration with plans for a career in finance. He is president of the student Investment Club, involved with student government, has participated in the Leadership Challenge program and hopes to become involved with the AACC Collegiate Entrepreneurs Organization (CEO) this year.

For information about opportunities at AACC, visit http://www.aacc.edu  

[do action=”blackwall-hitch”/]

Previous Article

The Firkin & Flyer opens at BWI airport

Next Article

Wine and beer tasting at Maryland Hall

You might be interested in …