June 16, 2024
Annapolis, US 62 F

Comcast awaards scholarships to 9 Anne Arundel County students

Comcast-LogoThe Comcast Foundation announced the 2015 recipients of its annual Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program awards in Maryland. The Program recognizes students who strive to achieve their potential, who are catalysts for positive change in their communities, who are involved in their schools and who serve as models for their fellow students. The philosophy behind the program is to give young people every opportunity to prepare for the future and to engage them in their communities. The program also demonstrates the importance of civic involvement, and the value placed on civic involvement by the business community.

“I applaud this year’s well-deserving scholarship recipients who have chosen to make their educational success a priority,” said Maryland Lieutenant Governor Boyd Rutherford. “Support from Maryland’s corporate citizens like Comcast not only helps our students realize their potential in the classroom, it helps our state thrive in a global economy.”

Comcast, joined by Lt. Governor Rutherford; Dr. Darla Strouse, Executive Director of the Maryland State Department of Education’s Partnerships and Recognition Programs and other local elected officials, recognized the students at a special event held Thursday, March 12, at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. One hundred and eight recipients of the 2015 Maryland Leaders and Achievers® scholarships received $1,000. DaNia Henry, a senior at Takoma Academy in Takoma Park was awarded a $10,000 Comcast Founders Scholarship – instituted in honor of Ralph J. Roberts, Founder and Chairman Emeritus of Comcast Corporation – for a total of $118,000 awarded this year to Maryland high school students. After a prize drawing, two students were also given iPads to use at college.

“I am very proud of these exemplary students,” said Dr. Strouse, “and very thankful for the dedication of their teachers, guidance counselors and parents who supported the endeavors that led them to this great accomplishment.”

“Our Leaders and Achievers Scholarship winners exemplify leadership and are committed to academic excellence and community service,” added Donna Rattley Washington, Vice President of Government and Community Affairs for Comcast’s Beltway Region. “We are honored to recognize their achievements, and excited to support them as they continue their educational journeys.”

To date, Comcast has awarded more than $22.8 million to nearly 23,000 Leaders and Achievers Scholarship winners.

2015 Comcast Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Recipients from  Anne Arundel County

  • Jacinta A. Harris of Northeast High School in Pasadena
  • William A. Shorter, Jr. of Glen Burnie High School
  • Ramish Qutab of North County High School in Glen Burnie
  • Monica H. Park of Annapolis High School
  • Olivia W. Wates of South River High School in Edgewater
  • Nicholas A. Henault of Archbishop Spalding High School in Severn
  • Rebekah L. Schrier of Arundel High School in Gambrills
  • Courtney Nicole Cybert of Chesapeake High School in Pasadena
  • Logan Thomas Gerhardt of Old Mill High School in Millersville

[do action=”blackwall-hitch”/]

Previous Article

Juicebox Jams moves to Union Jacks

Next Article

Watermark opens for another season of fun in Annapolis

You might be interested in …