December 5, 2023
Annapolis, US 48 F

Summit School science teacher selected for prestigious fellowship

The National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), the largest professional organization in the world promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all, in partnership with Lockheed Martin [NYSE: LMT], announced the selection of four Maryland science teachers as Lockheed Martin-NSTA Fellows for this year’s NSTA New Science Teacher Academy. Selected from hundreds of applications nationwide, the fellows (listed below) will participate in a host of science-related activities and professional development opportunities.

Lockheed Martin-NSTA Fellows:Christine Zito

  • Megan Mignogno, Patapsco High School, Baltimore, Md.
  • Krystal Romanowski, Chesapeake High School, Baltimore, Md.
  • Danielle Weyant, Woodlawn Middle School, Baltimore, Md.
  • Christine Zito, The Summit School, Edgewater, Md.

“Each of the fellows has conveyed a strong desire to develop their skills as teachers so that they can better foster their students’ interest in science,” said NSTA Executive Director Dr. David Evans. “We are very proud of this year’s group of fellows and are grateful for their commitment to science education and to their students.”

“We believe a strong professional development program is vital to the success of new STEM teachers,” said Emily Simone, Lockheed Martin’s Director of Community Relations. “We are proud to support NSTA’s New Science Teacher Academy and applaud the fellows’ commitment to educate and inspire our nation’s future scientists and engineers.”

This year, Lockheed Martin and the Bayer USA Foundation are supporting the 45 new science teachers selected as fellows in the program. Lockheed Martin is funding the participation of 36 science teachers as Lockheed Martin-NSTA Fellows, while the Bayer USA Foundation is sponsoring Bayer-NSTA Fellowships for nine New Jersey-based science teachers.

The 2014-2015 fellows were selected on the basis of several criteria, including showing evidence of a solid science background and displaying a strong interest in growing as a professional science educator.

Each fellow will receive a discipline-specific mentor, access to a facilitated web-based curriculum devoted to content and classroom pedagogy and an opportunity to participate in a variety of web-based professional development activities. Each fellow will also receive a comprehensive membership package and financial support to attend the NSTA 2015 National Conference on Science Education in Chicago.

For a list of the 2014-2015 Fellows or to learn more about the NSTA New Science Teacher Academy, visit

Source: NSTA

[do action=”blackwall-hitch”/]

Previous Article

Local women open business incubator in Annapolis’ Design District

Next Article

Woman robbed in Giant Food parking lot

You might be interested in …