April 22, 2024
Annapolis, US 62 F

13th Annual Book Festival scheduled for April 25th at Key School

libraryFormer Attorney General Alberto Gonzales and authors Jim Dwyer, Michael Moss, Boog Powell, and Martin Goldsmith are among many distinguished speakers already scheduled to appear at the 2015 Annapolis Book Festival on Saturday, April 25, at The Key School. The Annapolis Book Festival is a free community event that features a full day of discussions with best-selling authors, as well as book signings, family activities, and new and used book sales. The Festival draws approximately 3,000 visitors to Key School each year to celebrate the written word.

In addition to author appearances, the 13th annual Festival includes family-friendly entertainment and educational performances, live music and a variety of interactive children’s activities including ComicKey, a family-friendly comic adventure for children and teens with an exciting line up of comic writers and illustrators.

The Annapolis Book Festival is held on the campus of The Key School at 534 Hillsmere Drive, Annapolis, MD, 21403 on Saturday, April 25, 2015, from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Designed to promote and celebrate reading among all ages and interests, the event is free and open to the public.

2015 Annapolis Book Festival Authors

While authors are confirming participation weekly, as of January 26, we are pleased to announce the following authors will be appearing at the 2015 Festival:

  • Alberto Gonzales — 80th attorney general of the United States and author of A Conservative and Compassionate Approach to Immigration Reform
  • Jim Dwyer — Pulitzer Prize winner and author of More Awesome Than Money: Four Boys and Their Heroic Quest to Save Your Privacy from Facebook
  • Eric Lichtblau — Pulitzer Prize winner and author of The Nazis Next Door: How America Became a Safe Haven for Hitler’s Men
  • Michael Moss — Pulitzer Prize winner and author of Salt, Sugar Fat: How the Food Giants Hooked Us
  • James Risen— Pulitzer Prize winner and author of Pay Any Price: Greed, Power, and Endless War
  • Mikita Brottman — author of The Great Grisby: Two Thousand Years of Literary, Royal, Philosophical, and Artistic Dog Lovers and Their Exceptional Animals
  • W. Joseph Campbell — author of 1995: The Year the Future Began
  • Andrea Chapin — author of The Tutor
  • Aviva Chomsky — author of Undocumented: How Immigration Became Illegal
  • Timothy Denevi — author of Hyper: A Personal History of ADHD
  • Amitai Etzioni — author of The New Normal: Finding a Balance between Individual Rights and the Common Good
  • Zachary Fallon — author of Diego Dilemma in the Cookie Conundrum
  • Bruce Ferber — author of Cascade Falls
  • Charles E. Gannon — author of Trial by Fire
  • Martin Goldsmith — author of Alex’s Wake: A Voyage of Betrayal and a Journey of Remembrance
  • David Greene — author of Midnight in Siberia: A Train Journey into the Heart of Russia
  • Kathy Hunt — author of Fish Market: A Cookbook for Selecting and Preparing Seafood
  • Rob Kasper & Boog Powell — authors of Baltimore Baseball & Barbecue with Boog Powell: Stories from the Oriole’s Smokey Slugger
  • Cheryl Klam — author of Ether World
  • Glenn Kurtz — author of Three Minutes in Poland: Discovering a Lost World in a 1938 Family Film
  • Debbie Levy — author of Dozer’s Run: A True Story of a Dog and His Race
  • Barbara Lockhart — author of Mosey’s Field
  • T. Michael Martin — author of The End Game
  • Kembrew McLeod — author of Pranksters: Making Mischief in the Modern World
  • Kate Milford — author of Greenglass House
  • Barbara Klein Moss — author of The Language of Paradise
  • Diane Muldrow — author of Everything I Need to Know I Learned From a Little Golden Book
  • Alex Myers — author of Revolutionary
  • Erika Robuck — author of The House of Hawthorne
  • Marc Rotenberg — author of Privacy in the Modern Age: The Search for Solutions
  • Joe Schreiber — author of Game Over, Pete Watson
  • Adam Sobel — author of Hurricane Sandy: Our Changing Climate, and Extreme Weather of the Past and Future
  • John C. Unitas Jr. — author of Johnny U and Me: The Man Behind the Golden Arm
  • Gernot Wagner — author of Climate Shock: The Economic Consequences of a Hotter Planet
  • Jesse Walker — author of The United States of Paranoia: A Conspiracy Theory
  • Sarah Wildman — author of Paper Love: Searching for the Girl My Grandfather Left Behind
  • Timothy Young — author of The Angry Little Puffin; I Hate Picture Books

Visit the Annapolis Book Festival Authors page for the most up-to-date listing as the number of authors will continue to grow.

2015 Annapolis Book Festival Children’s Activities

In addition to children’s and young adult authors including Timothy Young (The Angry Little Puffin), Zachary Fallon (Diego Dilemma in the Cookie Conundrum) and Joe Schreiber (Game Over, Pete Watson) the following are among the many family activities offered:

ComicKey—a family-friendly comic adventure for children and teens

  • Third Eye Comics and the Annapolis Book Festival are partnering to bring you “ComicKey—a family-friendly comic adventure” for children and teens. ComicKey will feature an exciting line up of writers and illustrators as we showcase the world of comics.

Meet Dozer!

  • Inspired by author Debbie Levy’s Dozer’s Run: A True Story of a Dog and His Race, children will have the opportunity to channel Dozer as they travel an obstacle course on their way to meet the famous goldendoodle.

Scales and Tales

  • See birds of prey and reptiles up close and personal while learning about stewardship of wildlife and other natural resources.

Source: Key School

[do action=”blackwall-hitch”/]

Previous Article

BGE offers tips to save energy and options to deal with higher bills

Next Article

Shots fired, Annapolis man robbed at gunpoint near Quiet Waters Park

You might be interested in …