--> Annapolis Restaurant Week <-----
--> <-----
--> Wes Adams For Anne Arundel Conty Circuit Court Judge <-----
Insert future code here--> 1-1 to 1-31 Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
STANDARD HERMAN AD--> Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
Herrmann 40--> “Herrmann <-----
MD Higher Education Commission Near Completer
Insert future code here
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

Kimberly Valerio joins ASO for Beethoven performance

| November 09, 2014, 01:16 PM | 0 Comments

Kimberly Valerio NovemberKimberly Valerio will perform as flute soloist with the Annapolis Symphony Orchestra (ASO) on November 14 and 15 in a program titled Beethoven “Eroica.” Music Director José-Luis Novo will lead the orchestra in these Lexus Classic Series concerts beginning at 8:00pm in the newly renovated auditorium of Maryland Hall for the Creative Arts. 

The concerts will begin with Le Tombeau de Couperin by Maurice Ravel.  Next Kimberly Valerio will take to the stage as soloist to perform Charles Tomlinson Griffes’ Poem for Flute and Orchestra and Albert Franz Doppler’s Fantasie Pastorale Hongroise with the orchestra.  After intermission, the program will conclude with Symphony No. 3 “Eroica” by Ludwig van Beethoven.

Ms. Valerio has served as Principal Flute of the Annapolis Symphony Orchestra since 1998 and as Principal Flute with the Maryland Symphony Orchestra since 2004. She holds a Bachelor of Music in Flute Performance from the Peabody Conservatory where she studied with Mark Sparks.  Her sound has been described as having “sparkle and verve” by the Baltimore Sun, “gorgeous sound,” “sweet purity” by the Capital Gazette, and “graceful elegance” by the Severna Park Voice.

During the 2014-15 season, Maestro Novo and the ASO are featuring “Music of the Great War,” and both Le Tombeau de Couperin and Poem for Flute and Orchestra are products of the period 1914 – 1918.  Beethoven’s Symphony No. 3 “Eroica”, written more than a century earlier in 1804, is a milestone of classical-style composition that displays great emotional range.  The conductor and composer Leonard Bernstein said that the first and second movements are “perhaps the greatest two movements in all symphonic music.”

Concert tickets range in price from $35 to $60 and are $10 for students.  Tickets are available online at, by calling the ASO at 410-263-0907, or by visiting the office in Room 204 at Maryland Hall for the Creative Arts.

[do action=”blackwall-hitch”/]

Category: Entertainment, Events, LIFE IN THE AREA, Local News, NEWS

About the Author - EOA Staff

Eye On Annapolis is a community based site focusing strictly on Anne Arundel County. These staff postings are general news postings made by our team of bloggers throughout the day and are not attributed to any one particular staff person.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter YouTube rss feed