--> Annapolis Restaurant Week <-----
--> <-----
--> Wes Adams For Anne Arundel Conty Circuit Court Judge <-----
Insert future code here--> 1-1 to 1-31 Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
STANDARD HERMAN AD--> Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
Herrmann 40--> “Herrmann <-----
MD Higher Education Commission Near Completer
Insert future code here
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

Chamber announces Business Hall of Fame inductees

| October 14, 2014, 04:12 PM | 0 Comments

[do action=”schuh”/]

chamber logoThe Annapolis and Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce has announced the 2014 Anne Arundel County Business Hall of Fame Inductees. They will be recognized and inducted at the Comcast Business Class Hall of Fame and Awards Banquet on Wednesday, October 22nd at the Loews Annapolis Hotel, from 6:00 – 9:00 PM.

This year’s Hall of Fame nominees are well-known, recognized and respected community business leaders.  They are:  John Martin Belcher, Jan W. Clark, Carroll H. Hynson, Jr., Richard J. “Rick” Morgan and Cathy Samaras.


            John Martin Belcher is a progressive leader, generous philanthropist and notable authority in aviation and air transport who has spent over 35 years in Aerospace and Defense.  Hailing as President and COO of ARINC in 1997, John was a key driving force behind ARINC’s global expansion.  He served as CEO of ARINC Inc. in 2002 and Chairman in 2004, before selling the company in 2014.

            Jan W. Clark is an accomplished banker and well-known community leader.  Jan has served as organizer and President/CEO of County National Bank, President/CEO of the Bank of Glen Burnie, Partner in the Auditing and Accounting firm of Claire and Anderson and is one of the Founding Members of Maryland Financial Bank who served on their Board since their opening in 2004.

            Carroll H. Hynson, Jr. is well known not only for his numerous successes in business, but also for his support of civil rights, minority business and his tireless commitment to the Annapolis community.  Carroll has served as both the first African American Director of Marketing and trade development at the Maryland Department of Transportation and the first Deputy Director of Sales and Public Affairs at the Maryland State Lottery.   He continues to serve as a key advisor to state and local officials.

            Rick Morgan has dedicated most of his life to providing industry, civic and community leadership that has greatly impacted lives of countless people.  He has twice earned the distinction by the U.S. Small Business Administration as Maryland’s “Financial Services Leader of the Year,” and he is the recipient of numerous community and government awards.  His extensive banking and financial management career includes serving as Director of the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond, The Regional President at Sandy Spring Bank and the Co-Founder, President and CEO of CommerceFirst Bankcorp.   In addition, he was a Founding Director, President and CEO of Annapolis National Bank as well as Director of Economic Development for two Anne Arundel County Executives.

            Cathy Samaras, a legendary figure in the sport of women’s lacrosse, has been recognized by Sports Business Journal as one of the Top 10 US Executives Influencing the Field of Women’s Sports.  As President of the US Women’s Lacrosse Association and VP of Marketing & Promotions for the International Federation of Lacrosse Associations, Cathy has devoted endless hours to promoting the growth and development of the game as well as empowering young athletes.

2014 Business Awards Nominees Announced


The Annapolis and Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce also announced 28 nominees in 6 award categories for Anne Arundel County’s 2014 Business Awards. They are as follows:

Business Leader of the Year Nominees

Gene Condon – Arundel Mills

Michael “Mike”  Phennicie – BWI Thurgood Marshall Airport

Richard “Rick” Springer – BB&T

Brian S. Walter – M&T Bank

Entrepreneur of the Year Nominees

Eco-armour corp.

HERE. a pop-up shop

ITnova, LLC


Green Business of the Year Nominees

Chesapeake Bay Roasting Co. Coffee


Inn at Horn Point

Non-Profit of the Year Nominees

Box of Rain

Creating Communities

Girls on the Run of the Greater Chesapeake (GOTRGC)

Small Business of the Year Nominees

Bay Ridge Wine & Spirits

Dogwood Acres Pet Retreat

FASTSIGNS® of Annapolis, MD

K&B True Value

Karen Renee Interior Design, Inc

The Don Riddle Corporate Citizenship Award Nominees

Bay Ridge Wine & Spirits

HeimLantz CPAs and Advisors

Northrop Grumman Electronic Systems

In addition, Anne Arundel County Public Schools will present their Community Outreach Award and Anne Arundel County Economic Development Corporation will present its Developer of the Year Award at the 2014 Annual Business Hall of Fame and Business Awards Banquet on Wednesday, October 22nd, 2014.

To register for the event, visit  or call 410-266-3960.


[do action=”blackwall-hitch”/]

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Category: Businesses, Events, LIFE IN THE AREA, Local News, NEWS

About the Author - EOA Staff

Eye On Annapolis is a community based site focusing strictly on Anne Arundel County. These staff postings are general news postings made by our team of bloggers throughout the day and are not attributed to any one particular staff person.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter YouTube rss feed