MD Higher Education Commission Near Completer
Insert future code here
1-14-22 to 3-8-22 <------
-- October 21 - 1-14-22 <---------
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

Fire Advisory Board Appointments Announced

| February 13, 2014, 03:45 PM | 0 Comments

FD_BannerCounty Executive Laura Neuman and Fire Chief Michael Cox are formally announcing the resurrection of the Fire Advisory Board and appointment of its nine members.

Established in 1985, the Fire Advisory Board advises the County Executive and the Fire Chief, as well as other County officials and employees, on matters related to administration of fire and emergency services.  The Board consists of nine members who serve with four-year term limits as established by the County Charter.  Six members are firefighters, with three appointed by the Anne Arundel County Volunteer Firemen’s Association, and one by the County Fire Department.  The County Executive appointed three members who are citizens within separate fire battalion districts, and one member was appointed by the County’s Battalion and Fire Chiefs from among their ranks.

The Board became inactive in 2004 and was reinstated at the beginning of this fiscal year.

The nine member board consists of Volunteer Firefighters Association members Dennis McDonald of Herald Harbor, Steve Race of Arundel and Walt Snyder from Orchard Beach.

Representing Professional Firefighters Local 1563 are Ian McGreevy and Shawn Jones.  Tom Parks was chosen as the representative from the Battalion Chief ranks with civilian members John Hiser owner of Paradise Marina in Deale, Charlie Phelps owner of Phelps Trucking Company in Glen Burnie and former 1st District Councilman Pete Smith.

The next meeting is scheduled to be held in early spring at the Anne Arundel County Fire Department Headquarters located at 8501 Veterans Highway in Millersville.

Source: AACoFD

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Category: Local News, NEWS

About the Author - EOA Staff

Eye On Annapolis is a community based site focusing strictly on Anne Arundel County. These staff postings are general news postings made by our team of bloggers throughout the day and are not attributed to any one particular staff person.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter YouTube rss feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.