1-14-22 to 3-8-22 <------
-- October 21 - 1-14-22 <---------
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

Annapolis Receives Sustainable Designation

| January 16, 2014, 04:45 PM | 0 Comments

sustainafest_logoiconAnnapolis Mayor Mike Pantelides announced that Annapolis is one of seventeen Maryland communities recently added to the list of Maryland’s Sustainable Communities, joining the statewide initiative to strengthen reinvestment and revitalization in Maryland’s older neighborhoods.

“It is always good to know we are going above and beyond to make Annapolis better, but it is really great when the state sees our work and acknowledges our efforts,”  Mayor Pantelides said.

Sustainable Communities seek to conserve resources, provide green spaces and parks for recreation and agriculture, and conserve historical and cultural resources. They are communities that have developed a comprehensive plan to bring public and private investments together to increase affordable housing opportunities and transit-oriented development.

Governor O’Malley’s Smart Growth subcabinet has approved 55 Sustainable Communities under Maryland’s Sustainable Communities Act of 2010.  Maryland’s newest Sustainable Communities include:

  • Anne Arundel County – Annapolis, Brooklyn Park, Glen Burnie;
  • Baltimore County – Towson
  • Carroll County – Taneytown
  • Cecil County – Port Deposit
  • Dorchester County – Cambridge
  • Frederick County – Thurmont
  • Garrett County – Eight municipalities
  • Kent County – Chestertown
  • Montgomery County – 50 square miles of the county’s developed core
  • Prince George’s County – Forest Heights
  • Talbot County – Easton, St. Michaels
  • Worcester County – Ocean City, Snow Hill

Annapolis – as the capital of Maryland and the county seat of Anne Arundel County, Annapolis is known for its enduring economic institutions, historic government buildings, stable neighborhoods, and waterside aesthetics in the unique downtown area. Building upon previous state designations, the City will use the Sustainable Community designation to work with various partners to advance goals of improving walkability of the City Dock and Eastport areas, reducing carbon emissions, mitigating storm-water runoff, expanding workforce opportunities, and the preservation of affordable housing. The implementation of a “Cultural Resource Hazard Mitigation Plan” is proposed to protect valuable resources located in the 100-year floodplain as an effort to maintain the community’s vibrant historic and cultural character.

For a full listing of all the designated communities, please visit http://bit.ly/19dRvXD

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Category: NEWS

About the Author - EOA Staff

Eye On Annapolis is a community based site focusing strictly on Anne Arundel County. These staff postings are general news postings made by our team of bloggers throughout the day and are not attributed to any one particular staff person.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter YouTube rss feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.