December 8, 2023
Annapolis, US 54 F

CFAAC Announced Philanthropy Award Recipients

philanthropyThe Community Foundation of Anne Arundel County (CFAAC) is pleased to announce the recipients of their 2013 philanthropist, corporate, volunteer and foundation awards. This year’s Philanthropists of the Year are John and Cathy Belcher; Fred Davis is the Volunteer of the Year; CPS/Gumpert is the Corporate Philanthropist of the Year; and the Keith Campbell Foundation receives the Celebration of Philanthropy Foundation Award.

A special Celebration of Philanthropy lifetime achievement award will be given to Lisa Hillman, retired President of the Anne Arundel Medical Center Foundation, to honor her for raising the philanthropy bar in the community over the past thirty years. “She has served the entire nonprofit sector in the county through her wisdom, guidance and philanthropic leadership,” says Bess Langbein, Executive Director of the Community Foundation of Anne Arundel County.

The winners will receive their awards at the annual Celebration of Philanthropy Luncheon on Friday, November 8th, 11.00 am to 2.00 pm at the Doubletree Hotel on Riva Road in Annapolis.

John and Cathy Belcher were nominated for being philanthropic leaders, donors and volunteers, both in their professional and personal lives. As CEO of ARINC, John has often lent significant company support. Their generosity and volunteer involvement has been widespread covering health, the arts and human services for organizations such as Anne Arundel Medical Center, Hospice of the Chesapeake, Maryland Hall for the Creative Arts, Historic Annapolis, the Anne Arundel Library Foundation, the Annapolis Symphony Orchestra, the Annapolis Opera, Maryland Therapeutic Riding, and Leadership Anne Arundel.

Over the past 15 years, they have given more than $15 million to Anne Arundel Medical Center; $50,000 a year plus a leading capital campaign commitment to Hospice of the Chesapeake; and $8,500 a year to Maryland Hall for the Creative Arts.

Says nominator, Jan Weinberg Wood, President and Chief Development Officer, Anne Arundel Medical Center Foundation, “John and Cathy are always willing to participate in and promote new and creative fundraising models that both leverage support through partnerships and encourage in-kind support. They have helped to create a sorely needed conference center; to promote ‘cross benefits’ from partner events; and to support innovative giving methods such as the art donation partnership between Hospice of the Chesapeake and Maryland Hall.”

The Volunteer of the Year is Fred Davis who was nominated by Tracy Lynott from Bello Machre, Inc. She says that, “Fred has been an active advocate for people with developmental disabilities in all of his volunteer work. He is a strong voice to promote and change community living for adults with disabilities. Fred has a 49 year old son with developmental disabilities and his 25 years of volunteering has given him the satisfaction of knowing he is making a difference to this community.”

At Bello Machre, Fred volunteers with the Board of Directors, two large fundraising events and outreach mailings. At Opportunity Builders (OBI) he is a Board Member and a member of the Marketing and Development Committee. He also works with OBI’s Association of Parents.

The Corporate Philanthropist of the Year is CPS/Gumpert Printing and CEO Jeff Ostenso. One of the largest commercial printing companies in this area, Gumpert employs 110 people in two locations.

Through CPS/Gumpert, Jeff continuously supports non-profits in Anne Arundel County including AAMC, The Light House, Food Link, Annapolis Film Festival, Children’s Theatre of Annapolis, Maritime Museum, Community Foundation of AAC, Annapolis Opera, Wellness House, Hospice of the Chesapeake, and many more. These printing services are worth more than $150,000 annually.

Says nominator, Pam Siemer, Director of Development for The Light House, “CPS/Gumpert prints all materials for our organization saving us, and many other non profits, tens of thousands of dollars each year. He never asks for recognition and is very humble about these donations. I believe he exemplifies this award as a businessman, concerned member of our community, generous donor, and all-around wonderful member of the Human Race.”

The Keith Campbell Foundation receives the Celebration of Philanthropy Foundation Award for 2013.  During 2012 alone, the Campbell Foundation gave nearly $900,000 to 19 local nonprofits to promote policy, advocacy, and enforcement to improve water quality, restore ecological balance, and foster an engaged citizenry within Anne Arundel County.  Recipients ranged from the Severn and West/Rhode Riverkeepers, South River Federation, Waterkeepers Chesapeake, Watersheds Stewards Academy, Chesapeake Bay Trust and Chesapeake Bay Foundation to the YWCA and National Wildlife Federation Mid Atlantic Regional Center.

The Campbell Foundation was nominated by Hilary Harp Falk, Regional Executive Director of The National Wildlife Federation who says, “The Campbell Foundation provides enormous leadership amongst the environmental community through its monetary support and through the involvement of its staff. Executive Director, Verna Harrison, is a vocal advocate for the value of philanthropy and, unsolicited, often speaks of the significance of area nonprofits to other potential funders as a way to encourage their own philanthropic leadership.”

Tickets to the Celebration of Philanthropy luncheon are $80.00 and can be purchased by contacting the Community Foundation of Anne Arundel County, 914 Bay Ridge Road, Suite 220, Annapolis, MD 21403. For more information call 410-280-1102 or email [email protected].

Previous Article

HERE Popping Up Again Tomorrow

Next Article

Mayor Holding Ceremony To Recognize African American Alderpersons Of Annapolis

You might be interested in …