MD Higher Education Commission Near Completer
Insert future code here
1-14-22 to 3-8-22 <------
-- October 21 - 1-14-22 <---------
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

Jodie Hogan Named Finalist For Maryland Teacher Of The Year

| September 03, 2013, 01:55 PM | 0 Comments
Courtesy image

Courtesy image

Jodie Hogan, a Spanish teacher at South River High School in Edgewater, today was named one of seven finalists for the 2013 Maryland Teacher of the Year by the Maryland State Department of Education.

Hogan is the second Anne Arundel County Public Schools (AACPS) teacher to be a finalist for the state award in the last three years. Southern Middle School language arts teacher Laura Groo was a finalist in 2011. AACPS has had 12 finalists since 1986-87, and two of those – Patricia Neidhardt in 1989 and Linda Adamson in 1994 – have been named Maryland Teacher of the Year.

“I am extremely honored to represent the county on the state level,” Hogan said. “Since being named the county Teacher of the Year, I have felt a greater responsibility to share all of the great work that goes on here.  My students expect more from me, and I know that I must deliver.”

Hogan was named AACPS’ 2012-2013 Anne Arundel County Public Schools Teacher of the Year in April. She is the first South River teacher and the first World and Classical Languages teacher to win the award since its inception in 1986-87.

Hogan began her career at South River in 1999 and has stayed there ever since. She is known at the school and throughout the county as a passionate educator who shares her love of language, culture, and travel with her students in multi-dimensional ways that have them returning eager to learn more.

“I am absolutely thrilled by the news of Ms. Hogan’s selection as a finalist for Maryland Teacher of the Year,” South River High School Principal Will Myers said. “She epitomizes the concept of a master teacher, combined with character, charm, and grace. Perhaps the greatest compliment I can give her is that if I could select only one special teacher for my own children, it would be Ms. Hogan.”

In addition to her high school classes, Hogan is an instructor for higher-aspiring educators at Gratz College. In 2011, she was named Maryland Language Teacher of the Year by the Maryland Foreign Language Association.

Other finalists for the Maryland Teacher of the Year are Carol Garner of Allegany County; Ketia Stokes of Baltimore City; Sean McComb of Baltimore County; Steven Luthultz of Cecil County; George McGurl of Howard County; and Christina Ulrich of Montgomery County. The winner will be announced on October 11, 2013.

Source: AACPS

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Category: Local News, NEWS, OPINION

About the Author - EOA Staff

Eye On Annapolis is a community based site focusing strictly on Anne Arundel County. These staff postings are general news postings made by our team of bloggers throughout the day and are not attributed to any one particular staff person.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter YouTube rss feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.