--> Wes Adams For Anne Arundel Conty Circuit Court Judge <-----
Insert future code here--> 1-1 to 1-31 Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
STANDARD HERMAN AD--> Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
Herrmann 40--> “Herrmann <-----
MD Higher Education Commission Near Completer
Insert future code here
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

Chesapeake Bay Trust Opens 2014 Scholarship And Awards Program

| September 25, 2013, 01:51 PM | 0 Comments

CB TrustLast week, the Chesapeake Bay Trust  announced the opening of its 2014 Scholarship and Awards Program. Launched in 1998, the Chesapeake Bay Trust’s Annual Awards Program honors teachers, students and individuals for their contributions to environmental education; restoration of our streams, rivers, and the Bay; and citizen stewardship. Currently the Trust is soliciting applications and/or nominations for five awards: Teacher of the Year, Student of the Year, Honorable Arthur Dorman Scholarship, Ellen Fraites Wagner Award and Melanie Teems Award. The winners of the Honorable Arthur Dorman and Student of the Year awards will receive $5,000 scholarships and the Teacher of the Year will be awarded a $2,500 grant to support an environmental education project at his or her school.

“There are so many exceptional individuals around the Chesapeake Bay watershed working to improve their local environment and communities in innovative and effective ways,” said Dr. Jana Davis, executive director of the Chesapeake Bay Trust. “The Chesapeake Bay Trust wants to recognize and honor the students, teachers and volunteers who are making a difference in their neighborhoods and for our natural resources.”

The deadline to submit a nomination for the Chesapeake Bay Trust’s Awards Program is Monday, December 2, 2013, at 5:00 pm. All applicants can complete the application or be nominated by someone other than a family member.  Applicants must be a resident of Maryland and/or the Chesapeake Bay watershed.­ For complete details and to submit an online application, visit www.cbtrust.org.   The winners will be announced during the Chesapeake Bay Trust’s 2014 Legislative Reception to be held in January 2014.

The Chesapeake Bay Trust’s 2014 Awards Program includes:

Teacher of the Year Award
Awarded to a Maryland or Chesapeake Bay watershed educator who has shown an outstanding commitment to environmental education, who motivates and inspires students, and serves as a respected resource to colleagues and community leaders. The winner will receive a $2,500 grant to support their environmental education work.

Student of the Year Award
Awarded to a high school or college student attending school within Maryland or elsewhere within the Chesapeake Bay watershed who motivates and inspires others and participates in efforts to improve the local environment and/or community. The winner will receive a $5,000 scholarship award.

Honorable Arthur Dorman Scholarship
Recognizes a Maryland or Chesapeake Bay watershed high school or college student of color who motivates and inspires other students through his or her actions in school and/or in the community and participates in efforts to improve the local environment and/or the community. The winner will receive a $5,000 scholarship award.

Melanie Teems Award
Honors efforts that engages citizens in efforts to improve the environment and/or resources of the Chesapeake Bay watershed through demonstration-based projects or programs, serves as a model for other organizations to exemplify, and uses the resources of the Chesapeake Bay Trust. 
Ellen Fraites Wagner Award
Recognizes an individual who works to improve the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries, motivates and inspires others by promoting environmental awareness throughout the community, exhibits a long-term commitment to the restoration of the Chesapeake Bay, and leads successful restoration efforts.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Category: Crime News, LIFE IN THE AREA, Local News, NEWS, OPINION

About the Author - EOA Staff

Eye On Annapolis is a community based site focusing strictly on Anne Arundel County. These staff postings are general news postings made by our team of bloggers throughout the day and are not attributed to any one particular staff person.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter YouTube rss feed