June 24, 2024
Annapolis, US 86 F

Chesapeake Bay Trust Accepting Applications For Awards

The Chesapeake Bay Trust is now accepting applications for its 2013 Annual Awards Program. This program honors students, teachers, individuals, communities, and organizations for their work to promote education, improve communities, and help restore the local rivers, streams, and other habitats of the Chesapeake Bay watershed. Currently the Trust is soliciting applications and/or nominations for five awards: Teacher of the Year, Student of the Year, Honorable Arthur Dorman Scholarship, Ellen Fraites Wagner Award and Melanie Teems Award.  Each award recognizes a particular area of achievement ranging from outdoor education to Bay stewardship to community leadership.

“There are so many dedicated individuals — of all ages — accomplishing major goals each and every day to help increase awareness and restore water quality and habitats in our watershed,” said Dr. Jana Davis, executive director of the Chesapeake Bay Trust. “We want to honor these students, teachers and volunteers for their incredible efforts that are truly improving our communities and local waters.”

All applications for the Chesapeake Bay Trust’s Annual Awards Program must be received by 5:00 pm on Friday, December 20, 2012, and must be completed online at www.cbtrust.org.  Applicants can be self-nominated or nominated by someone else, excluding family members. The winning applicants will be announced during the Trust’s Legislative Reception on January 24, 2013, in Annapolis. The Trust’s Teacher of the Year award winner will receive a $2,500 mini grant for their school or institution and the two student scholarship winners will received $5,000 college scholarships.

Available awards include:

Teacher of the Year Award

This award is given to a Maryland educator who has shown outstanding commitment to environmental education. The winner will earn a $2,500 mini grant for environmental education and restoration activities at his or her institution from the Chesapeake Bay Trust.

Student of the Year Scholarship

The Student of the Year award is a $5,000 college scholarship given to a Maryland high school or college student who has shown an outstanding commitment to environmental stewardship, Chesapeake Bay restoration, and community involvement.

Honorable Arthur Dorman Scholarship

This award provides a $5,000 scholarship to a Maryland high school or college student who demonstrates a commitment to improving the health of the environment and the Chesapeake Bay and who, as a student of color, exhibits exemplary leadership in promoting diversity and inclusion in his/her school and broader community.  The late Senator Arthur Dorman, who served on the board of trustees from its inception in 1985 until his retirement in 2003, played a large role in bringing Trust grant programs to a greater diversity of communities.

Ellen Fraites Wagner Award
The Ellen Fraites Wagner award is given to an individual who has shown exceptional commitment to the Chesapeake Bay and exhibits leadership in the Bay community. Applicants must exhibit a long-term commitment to the restoration of the Chesapeake Bay.  The late Ellen Fraites Wagner served on the staff of Governor Harry Hughes and played an instrumental role in the formation of the Trust in the 1980s.

Melanie Teems Award
This award recognizes an exemplary project funded by the Chesapeake Bay Trust that engages Maryland students and/or citizens in Bay education or restoration work. Melanie Teems is the longest-serving staff member, at 17 years or service before her retirement in 2009, of the Chesapeake Bay Trust.

Previous Article

Lights On The Bay To Open November 17th

Next Article

Annapolis Deploys Two Firefighters To Assist With Storm Recovery In Garrett County

You might be interested in …