April 24, 2024
Annapolis, US 61 F

Community Foundation Announces Recipients Of Celebration Of Philanthropy Awards

James and Sylvia Earl
James and Sylvia Earl
James and Sylvia Earl

The Community Foundation of Anne Arundel County is pleased to announce the recipients of the philanthropist, corporate philanthropist, volunteer and foundation awards for 2012. This year’s Philanthropists of the Year are; Bobbie and Jerry Burnett are the Volunteers of the Year; Severn Savings Bank is the Corporate Philanthropist of the Year; and The William J. And Dorothy K. O’Neill Foundation receives the Celebration of Philanthropy Foundation Award.

The winners will receive their awards at the annual Celebration of Philanthropy Luncheon which will take place on Friday, November 16th, 11:00 am to 2:00 pm at the Doubletree Hotel on Holiday Court in Annapolis. Presenting sponsor for this year’s luncheon is Chaney Enterprises.

James and Sylvia Earl were nominated for their many acts of philanthropy in the County through their Helena Foundation. Over the past year alone, they have given more than $336,000 to local non-profits including the Annapolis Opera, Annapolis Symphony Orchestra, Arts Council, Bay Theatre Company, World Artist Experience, Anne Arundel Medical Center, Scenic River Land Trust, St. John’s College and many more.

Says nominator, April Nyman, Executive Director of the Arts Council of Anne Arundel County, “The Earls lead by example. They not only make a financial commitment to support organizations, but they also give their support as board members, patrons, volunteers and advocates. They are never the silent partner in giving. They actively research and monitor their giving investments and they carefully consider each beneficiary’s needs through a very personal discernment process.” The Helena Foundation was founded in 1988 to honor Jim’s mother, Margaret Helena Earl.

Volunteers of the Year are Bobbie and Jerry Burnett in recognition of their over 30 years of

raising money to help fight cancer through their Caring Collection. Their goal was to raise one million dollars through the sale of glass angels that are created by their volunteers. This year they exceeded that goal after selling more than 43,000 angels and 50,000 sun catchers.

They have also inspired many others to set up their own volunteer programs.  For over 20 years, they have brought thousands of people to John Hopkins Kimmel Cancer Center’s Camp Sunrise for children with cancer to create their own sun catchers.

Says Louis Koschmeder, President of the Oncology Foundation of Maryland and the District of Columbia, the co-nominator with Anne Arundel Medical Foundation, “Bobbie and Jerry have had a widespread impact on their many volunteers and on others who have taken their message back to their own organizations and communities. The Caring Collection hs been an inspiration to thousands.”

The Corporate Philanthropist of the Year is Severn Savings Bank (SSB) which has supported over 40 non-profits in Anne Arundel County. In FY11, SSB provided over $85,000 in funds and it is on track to reach $150,000 in FY12. Their causes range from education and the arts to the abused and terminally ill.

SSB emphasizes its role as a community bank, and the bank’s record of giving more than ten percent of their net revenue underscores their commitment to give locally.  Thousands of individuals have been helped through their financial support of Bay clean-up, financial literacy education for youth, medical treatment to the uninsured, access to the arts for the disadvantaged, and programming to support academic success.

The dollars are compounded by the in-kind help and expertise that SSB and their staff provide.  In particular, the President, Alan Hyatt, encourages and motivates others by the example he sets.

Half of his employees are actively engaged in volunteer service. SSB was nominated by the YWCA of Annapolis and Anne Arundel County with The Summit School, Anne Arundel Community College Foundation, and Hospice of the Chesapeake as co-sponsors.

The William J. And Dorothy K. O’Neill Foundation receives the Celebration of Philanthropy Foundation Award for 2012.  They were nominated by Anne Arundel Community College Foundation.

Says nominator, Kathy Bolton, “In a grantmaking world that heavily favors new and high-profile programs, the O’Neill Foundation stands apart. Its Capacity Building program invests in the infrastructure of nonprofits. They recognize that nonprofits are a critical engine and partner helping to deliver vital services in our community. These grants pave the way to long-term sustainability and better leveraging of resources.”

The O’Neill Foundation supports philanthropy in places where family members live. Timothy and Cindy O’Neill, Annapolis residents, steward the foundation’s mission in our region. Grantees include Anne Arundel Community College, the Community Foundation of Anne Arundel County, Habitat for Humanity, Lighthouse Shelter, Hospice of the Chesapeake and the YWCA of Annapolis and Anne Arundel County.

Tickets to the Celebration of Philanthropy luncheon are $80.00 and can be purchased by contacting the Community Foundation at 410-280-1102 or email [email protected].  Sponsorship opportunities are available.  This event draws nearly 400 business, community non-profit and philanthropic leaders, and sells out weeks before the event.

Previous Article

AACC To Sponsor Candiate Forum October 23rd

Next Article

Wild About The Annapolis Symphony Orchestra This Thursday

You might be interested in …