--> Wes Adams For Anne Arundel Conty Circuit Court Judge <-----
Insert future code here--> 1-1 to 1-31 Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
STANDARD HERMAN AD--> Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
Herrmann 40--> “Herrmann <-----
MD Higher Education Commission Near Completer
Insert future code here
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

Old Mill High Student, Nick Lefavor, Appointed To School Board

| March 27, 2012, 11:28 AM | 0 Comments

Nick Lefavor, a junior at Old Mill High School, was elected by members of the Chesapeake Regional Association of Student Councils today to be the 2012-2013 student member of the Anne Arundel County Board of Education (SMOB).

Approximately 230 students attended today’s election at South River High School, and 210 students cast votes. Jake Ritterpusch of Chesapeake High School and Sean Cooley of Severna Park High School were the other finalists for the position.

Lefavor’s name will be forwarded to Governor Martin O’Malley, who must make the formal appointment. Lefavor would be the fourth Old Mill High School student to serve on the Board, and the first since Brittany Walker in 2006-2007. He would succeed current student member Jillian Buck of South River High School, whose one-year term expires in June.

“All the hard work has paid off,” Lefavor said. “I can’t wait to finally make the difference I know I can.”

Upon appointment, Lefavor will become the 39th student member of the Board. Students have held a seat on the Board since 1974, when Andover High School’s Jeffrey Robinson served in an advisory capacity. Anne Arundel’s student member has had full voting rights since 1975, and is the only member of a local school board in the nation to have that status.

If appointed, Lefavor would assume his seat on July 1.

Source: AACPS

Tags: , , , , , , ,


About the Author - EOA Staff

Eye On Annapolis is a community based site focusing strictly on Anne Arundel County. These staff postings are general news postings made by our team of bloggers throughout the day and are not attributed to any one particular staff person.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter YouTube rss feed