March 2, 2024
Annapolis, US 53 F

Excellence In Education Award Nominees Announced

Forty-seven public school teachers and three private school teachers will be honored on April 16, 2012, as Anne Arundel County Public Schools and the Annapolis & Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce celebrate the 26th annual Excellence in Education banquet at the BWI Marriott in Linthicum.

The event will also honor local businesses that have forged critical partnerships with schools across the county, directly benefitting AACPS’ 76,300 students. The evening will culminate with the announcements of the 2012 Anne Arundel County Public and Private School Teachers of the Year. The Public School Teacher of the Year will represent the county in the Maryland State Teacher of the Year competition.

“I look forward to this process every year because it gives us all a chance to celebrate the great teaching that goes on throughout our school system,” Superintendent Kevin Maxwell said. “Every day in our classrooms, our teachers are creating brighter futures not just for our children, but for all of us. It is thrilling to be able to spotlight that in this way.”

The following teachers have been nominated by their schools and school communities:

● Ferhat Avsar, Chesapeake Science Point Public Charter School

● Wylma Bagshaw, Oakwood Elementary School

● Michael Barnhart, Glendale Elementary School

● Sherryl Barton, Broadneck Elementary School

● Mary Jo Bedsworth, Lake Shore Elementary School

● Raven Bishop, Severn River Middle School

● Barbara Bollino, Marley Middle School

● Patricia Brett, Monsignor Slade Catholic School

● Terrilyn Broderick, Glen Burnie High School

● Allyson Cabradillia, Millersville Elementary

● Kimberly Cahill, Odenton Elementary School

● Elaine Cechak, Broadneck High School

● Michelle Colaric, Belvedere Elementary School

● Vicki Dabrowka, Eagle Cove School

● Kelly Dillon, Mayo Elementary School

● Brenda Duerr, Community Based Services

● Sherrita Evans, Frank Hebron-Harman Elementary School

● Keri Farrish, Central Elementary School

● Nellie Fastige, Arnold Elementary School

● Amanda Finnis, Severna Park Elementary School

● Donald Foderaro, North County High School

● Martha Gardner, Belvedere Elementary School

● Christopher Graulich, Riviera Beach Elementary School

● Catherine Hayo, Arnold Elementary School

● Catherine Hellie, Archbishop Spalding High School

● Sabra Hill, Severna Park High School

● Sarah Jester, Northeast High School

● Sandi Lemoncello, Marley Elementary School

● Michelise “Mikki” Loiselle, Pershing Hill Elementary School

● Sharon Mabbott, Southgate Elementary School

● Monica Mantegna, Lindale Middle School

● Laurie Marlow, Severna Park Middle School

● Thomas Mawhinney, Windsor Farm Elementary School

● Emily Miller, Annapolis Middle School

● Michael Miller, Old Mill High School

● Julie Olson, Nantucket Elementary School

● Brenda Osborne, MacArthur Middle School

● Mary Rathlev, Severn River Middle School

● Sheri Rinehuls, Severna Park Elementary School

● Scott Rundle, Broadneck High School

● Kellie Schell-Ramey, Waugh Chapel Elementary School

● Mark Schrader, Southern High School

● J. William Sturgis, Crofton Middle School

● Kimberly Terry, Manor View Elementary School

● Paula Wagner, Mary Moss Academy

● Julie Weber, Severna Park Middle School

● Carrie Weimer, Pasadena Elementary School

● Kimberly Wilcox, Richard Henry Lee Elementary School

● Kathryn Williams, Linthicum Elementary School

● Barbara Wood, Linthicum Elementary School

Semifinalists from the field of 47 public school nominees will be announced later this month. From that group, five finalists will be chosen.

“This is a special event to honor and celebrate Anne Arundel County’s dedicated teachers and business partners as they prepare the students for tomorrow’s workforce,” said Bob Burdon, President of the Annapolis and Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce.

Business partnership nominations will be accepted until February 10. Forms can be found at

Tickets for the event are $40 each. For sponsorship information and ticket orders, visit For other information, please call 410-266-3960.

Source: AACPS
Previous Article

Fordham Brewery Begins Exporting

Next Article

Annapolis Begins Reshuffling Offices

You might be interested in …