June 15, 2024
Annapolis, US 78 F

A Musical Salute To Women

Maryland State House (side)

Opportunities Industrialization Center of Anne Arundel County(OIC) presents a “Musical Salute to Women” on Sunday, March 25th, 2012, beginning at 4pm in the St John’s College, Francis Scott Key Auditorium, in Annapolis, Maryland.

The Musical Salute to Women will honor three phenomenal women from our local community who have helped make Anne Arundel County a better place to work and live. This year’s awardees are Ms. Joyce Edelson, Parole Rotary, Alderwoman Sheila Finlayson and Community Activist Ms. Gertrude (Trudi) McGowan.

Ms. Joyce Edelson, is the past president of the Parole Rotary Club, author of historical fiction book, The Rock Creek Shaman, the past president of Anne Arundel County affiliate of NAMI (National Alliance on Mental Illness) and currently teaches classes and facilitates support groups for families who have a loved one suffering from mental illness. As the past president of Parole Rotary Club, she has been involved with the Books for International Goodwill (B.I.G.), the club’s signature project and has served as the Retail Chair for the warehouse facility located in Annapolis. Ms Edleson is also a member of its Board of Trustees. Joyce Is deeply honored to receive this OIC award for her community service in helping BIG fulfill its mission of contributing to world literacy.

Alderwoman Sheila Finlayson, Sheila is an Alderwoman on the Annapolis (MD) City Council.  She serves as chairperson of the Public Safety Committee and as a member of the Economic Matters and Finance Committees.  She is also the liaison to the Education Commission.  She has worked very closely with the Annapolis Police Department in programming to help reduce crime, facilitating the Safe Streets program in several wards in the City.  This program brings jobs and health awareness to the community while reducing crime.  She is also a great ally for the Annapolis Fire Department and the Office of Emergency Management, promoting public safety from both department perspectives.

Ms. Finlayson taught English and public speaking in the Anne Arundel County Public Schools for 35 years.  She was elected President of the Teachers Association of Anne Arundel County and had a successful tenure advocating for the professional, economic, human and civil rights interests of educators.  She served for six years as the East Regional Director for the National Counsel of Urban Education Associations, representing nine states and has received gubernatorial and executive appointments for both educational and historical committees and commissions.  She co-chaired the committee to name Aris T. Allen Boulevard and chaired the committee to build the monument in his honor.

Sheila has a passion for helping the community and has served on numerous boards and commissions of cultural, civic, and historical agencies. Sheila is a member of Mount Zion United Methodist Church in Eastport.

Ms Gertrude E. “Trudi” McGowan was born in Annapolis and is a well known and admired member of this community as well as throughout the state of Maryland. She graduated with honors from the Cortez W. Peters business school in Baltimore, the University of Maryland nursing program, and is a graduate of Leadership Anne Arundel and Americorp/Vista.

Ms. Trudi’s wide range of experience includes work with Volunteer Services of America, the Maryland University System, John’s Hopkins, Maryland Governor’s Office, Baltimore County, District 40 Office, Senator Verda Welcome, Anne Arundel County School System, Baltimore School System, Annapolis Human Relations Commission and Housing Authority and Hospice of the Chesapeake.  She was elected Representative Democratic Central Ward 4, is a member of District 30 Democratic Committee, a founding member (and current member) of the Martin Luther King Breakfast and Dinner Committee, an Ambassador with the Anne Arundel County School system, and is a charter member of  the Sylvia Gaither Garrison Library at the Banneker-Douglass Museum.

Throughout her career, whether the issue was fair housing, unjust incarceration, improved transportation for students or skills that would help young people succeed, Ms. Trudi has been an invaluable resource and lobbyist.  Her efforts have been acknowledged with awards such as State of Maryland Governor’s Life-Time Community Service Award  and Civic Leader and Devoted Volunteer Award, State’s Attorney Achievement Award, Anne Arundel County Sheriff’s for Award Outstanding Community Service and Commitment to Ensuring the Safety and Well Being of the Citizens of Annapolis, YWCA Community Service Award from the Annapolis City Housing Authority, NAACP and an award for her participation in the Martin Luther King, Jr. March on Washington.

Today Ms. Trudi’s work continues as a grass roots lobbyist and volunteer.  She stands firm in her work ethic and belief that “We are all our brother’s keeper. We are here to help each other.”

The concert will feature the Howard University Symphonic Concert Band, lead by Mr. Kelvin Washington, Associate Director of Bands at Howard University. Ed Greene, Executive Director of OIC, will act as program narrator and will conduct several pieces of music during the performance. Our Special guest vocalist for this year’s concert is none other than Mr. Tony Spencer. Tony Spencer, vocalist, composer and songwriter, was born in Anne Arundel County, Maryland, and made his recording debut in 1966.  Over the years, Tony has performed with a variety of gospel artists and has appeared nationally and internationally with many Philharmonic Orchestras. Locally, Tony has worked with Maestro J. Ernest Green and the Annapolis Chorale and many other local musicians. Tony is also an accomplished actor, poet, and founder of Enrapture Records.

The Howard University Symphonic Band is one of the premiere performing ensembles in the Department of Music and Office of Choirs and Bands. This ensemble is one of the top collegiate symphonic bands in the country. Among the Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU’s), this ensemble maintains a vigorous performance and rehearsal schedule throughout the academic year.

According to Ed Greene, Executive Director of OIC, “The “Musical Salute to Women” is our only fundraiser for the year. This is the fourth year of the event. The board nominates and selects the candidates. We have been in this community since 1978 and have helped more than 7,000 local Annapolitans to train for and or help them move up the success ladder. Over the years OIC has given classes in training in Word Processing, Printing, Adult Basic Skills and GED Preparations, and English as a Second Language. We are exploring other training opportunities over the next few months.”

Past Awardees include Pastor Sheryl Menendez, Restoration Development Corp, Dr. Martha Smith, President AACC, Linnel Bowen, Maryland Hall, LCdr Dee Dee Duncan-White, USNA, Lisa Hillman, AA Medical Center, Bronte Jones, Ph.D. St. John’s College. Last year’s awardees were Alderwoman Classie Hoyle, Carlesa Finney AAC Board of Education, Cindy Bauchspies, Choir Director, Arundel Area Christian School, and the Naval Academy Chorus.

Tickets are $30 and are available at online at www.OIC-AACO.org. Tickets will also be available from board members. For additional information, contact Ed Greene at 410.222.1287 or 410.279.5938 or via email at [email protected].

Previous Article

Northeast High To Get Extended Spring Break

Next Article

Regional Recap, March 1, 2012

You might be interested in …