Retailers can help their staff avoid illegal cigarette sales to minors with the Tobacco Sales Compliance Kit from the Learn To Live program of the Anne Arundel County Department of Health. The free kit is available by calling the Learn To Live Line, 410-222-7979.
The Tobacco Sales Compliance Kit includes a training guide that explains Maryland’s tobacco sales laws and a reference card on how to
check I.D.s and spot fake identification. The kit has a window cling poster and a counter mat, which tell minors they cannot buy tobacco. Kit materials can also be downloaded from the Department of Health’s website at www.aahealth.org/ltl_
Direct Link to Kit: http://www.aahealth.org/ltl_
The sale of tobacco products to anyone under the age of 18 is illegal in the state of Maryland. The Anne Arundel County Police Department conducts routine checks of local merchants authorized to sell tobacco products to ensure compliance with the law. Store employees found to sell tobacco products to anyone under the age of 18 will be cited for the violation and required to appear in court. Employees and/or store owners face fines up to $300 for the first offense, up to $1,000 for a second offense and $3,000 for a third offense occurring within two years of the initial violation. Additionally, all violations are referred to the Maryland Comptroller’s Office, which will hold a subsequent licensee hearing.
The Learn To Live program encourages County residents to reduce their risk of developing cancer and other serious illnesses by making healthy lifestyle choices, such as eating a healthy diet, quitting smoking and getting regular cancer screenings. For more information, visit the Department of Health’s Learn To Live website at www.LearnToLiveHealthy.org or call 410-222-7979.