Insert future code here--> 1-1 to 1-31 Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
STANDARD HERMAN AD--> Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
Herrmann 40--> “Herrmann <-----
MD Higher Education Commission
Insert future code here

Chesapeake Bay Trust Seeks Applicants For 2012 Awards Program

| October 05, 2011, 05:38 PM | 0 Comments

Each year, the Chesapeake Bay Trust recognizes outstanding accomplishments by educators, students, and individuals who work to advance education while protecting and restoring our great Chesapeake Bay. Currently the Trust is soliciting applications and/or nominations for its 2012 Awards Program that includes five awards: Teacher of the Year, Student of the Year, Honorable Arthur Dorman Scholarship, Ellen Fraites Wagner Award and Melanie Teems Award. Each award recognizes a particular area of environmental achievement in Maryland ranging from outdoor education to Bay activism to community leadership. All applications must be received by 5:00 pm on Friday, December 16, 2011 to be considered and must be completed online at www.cbtrust.org.

Available awards include:

Teacher of the Year Award
This award is given annually to a teacher who motivates and inspires students by promoting environmental awareness and stewardship. The winning applicant will receive a $2,500 award to go toward funding Trust-approved environmental field trips and/or outdoor education work at their school or organization.

Student of the Year Scholarship
This award provides a $5,000 scholarship to a Maryland high school or college student who has shown an outstanding commitment to environmental stewardship, Chesapeake Bay restoration and community involvement.

Honorable Arthur Dorman Scholarship
This award provides a $5,000 scholarship to a Maryland high school or college student who demonstrates a commitment to improving the health of the environment and the Chesapeake Bay and who, as a student of color, exhibits exemplary leadership in promoting diversity and inclusion in his/her school and broader community.

Ellen Fraites Wagner Award
This award is for an outstanding Bay Steward of the Year, and recognizes an individual who has shown exceptional commitment to the Chesapeake Bay and leadership within the Bay community.

Melanie Teems Award
This award recognizes an exemplary project or program funded by the Chesapeake Bay Trust that engages Maryland students or citizens in Bay education or restoration work.

For individual qualifications, application instructions and more information on each award, visit www.cbtrust.org. Interested parties can also contact Molly Alton Mullins at 410-974-2941, ext.107 or email [email protected] for more details. All award winners will be announced during the Trust’s Legislative Reception and Awards Program in January 2012.

Tags: ,


About the Author - EOA Staff

Eye On Annapolis is a community based site focusing strictly on Anne Arundel County. These staff postings are general news postings made by our team of bloggers throughout the day and are not attributed to any one particular staff person.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter YouTube rss feed

Fourth of July Cruises
Insert future code here