December 11, 2023
Annapolis, US 45 F

7 AACC Students Receive Architecture Awards

Seven students in Anne Arundel Community College’s Architecture and Interior Design program received awards in the 2011 Chesapeake Bay Chapter American Institute of Architects Student Award competition.

“This year the chapter gave out more awards than any previous year, a fact that the judges said was due to the tremendous quality of the projects submitted. We are extremely proud of our students,” said Michael D. Ryan, chair of the AACC architecture and interior design department.

Amy Frank of Baltimore and Adam J. Brott of Glen Burnie won the top Honor award for their Wasatch Ranger Station design. Judges said their use of space created a building that allowed viewers to experience the surroundings.

Three students won Merit awards: Joseph Barrick of Catonsville for his proposed Observation Pavilion located on Assateague Island that explored the relationship between internal and external spaces; Daniel Reynolds of Crofton for his Contemporary Community that presented a creative reinterpretation of the single-family housing community; and Corey Stein of Crofton and Humberto Coronado of Laurel for their Wasatch Ranger Station design that provided a strong image, a sense of scale and rich spatial features.

Robbie Lang of Annapolis won a Citation award for his proposed Assateague Island Observation Pavilion, which was designed to be part of the landscape, not merely set within it.

Students will be recognized and given their awards at the Chesapeake Bay Chapter’s annual Design Awards Gala, along with the design professionals.

“This recognition of our students’ work by our local professional community is a critical asset for the student. It helps better promote them for increased job, transfer and scholarship opportunities,” said Michael D. Ryan, chair of the AAC architecture and interior design department.

Previous Article

Annapolis Rotary Speaker Series

Next Article

4th Annual Fish For A Cure Tournament Set For November 5th

You might be interested in …