--> Wes Adams For Anne Arundel Conty Circuit Court Judge <-----
Insert future code here--> 1-1 to 1-31 Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
STANDARD HERMAN AD--> Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
Herrmann 40--> “Herrmann <-----
MD Higher Education Commission Near Completer
Insert future code here
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

O’Malley Appoints Two To Chesapeake Bay Trust Board

| September 24, 2011, 02:07 PM | 0 Comments

On behalf of Governor Martin O’Malley, the Chesapeake Bay Trust has announced the appointment of two new members to its board of trustees: Mr. Carter Heim and Mr. Adam Ortiz. Each appointee brings a wealth of experience to their post and will work with the Chesapeake Bay Trust board and staff to advance Bay restoration, environmental education and community involvement throughout the Chesapeake Bay watershed.

“It is with great pleasure that I appoint Mr. Heim and Mr. Ortiz to the Chesapeake Bay Trust’s Board of Trustees,” said Governor O’Malley. “Protecting the Chesapeake Bay is extremely important to our great state and I believe these individuals will serve ably in advancing the grant-making work and stewardship mission of the Chesapeake Bay Trust.

The Chesapeake Bay Trust is a state-chartered, nonprofit grant-making organization that has awarded more than $40 million in grants to projects and programs dedicated to the protection and restoration of the Chesapeake Bay and its rivers. Its 19-member board of trustees is comprised of representatives from the State General Assembly, Maryland Department of Natural Resources, Maryland Department of the Environment, and Maryland Department of Agriculture. The remaining board members represent business, local government, educational and environmental communities as well as the broader public.

“The governor’s new appointments bring to the Trust two exceptional individuals whose diverse professional backgrounds will strengthen our organization and ensure that we execute our mission with vision and passion,” said Tara Potter, Trust Board Chair. “We are pleased to welcome them to the Trust board and we look forward to working with them as we expand our efforts to improve the health of the Chesapeake Bay.”

The individuals will join the Trust’s current list of board members which includes: Honorable John Astle, Maryland State Senate; Dr. Torrey Brown, Intralytix, Inc.; Stuart Clarke, Town Creek Foundation; Honorable Valerie Ervin, Montgomery County Council; Matthew Gambrill, Calvert Marina; Joseph Gill, Maryland Dept. of Natural Resources; Warren Hamel, Venable, LLP; Virginia Kearney, Maryland Department of the Environment; Louise Lawrence, Maryland Department of Agriculture; Steve Linhard, St. Mary’s Schools and Parish; Dr. Margaret Palmer, University of Maryland; Tara Potter, Verizon; Terence Smith; Scot T. Spencer, The Annie E. Casey Foundation; and Dr. Lise Van Susteren. Currently, two board seats remain vacant and will be filled in the coming months.

Tags: , , ,


About the Author - EOA Staff

Eye On Annapolis is a community based site focusing strictly on Anne Arundel County. These staff postings are general news postings made by our team of bloggers throughout the day and are not attributed to any one particular staff person.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter YouTube rss feed