June 14, 2024
Annapolis, US 77 F

AACC Architecture Students Win Four State Awards

Anne Arundel Community College architecture students won both top awards and two Citation Awards in the 2011 American Institute of Architects (AIA) Maryland Student Design Awards Competition for community colleges.

The AIA has been the leading professional membership association for licensed architects, emerging professionals and allied partners since 1857. Its competition occurs each year in July followed by an awards program in September. Maryland student award entries are sent with the Maryland professional architects’ submissions to another state chapter (this year Louisiana) for judging by the same judges used for the professional entries.

“This is truly an outstanding example of how well prepared our AACC students are to compete with their peers on the state level,” said Michael D. Ryan, AACC professor and department chair of architecture.

Each of the top award winners receives a $500 cash prize and two tickets to the Maryland AIA Awards Gala.

The prize for Excellence in Digital/Hybrid Media went to Alec Harper of Arnold for the Petra Visitor Center project he created in the college’s “Architectural Design 3” (ACH 211) class. His project met the award criteria to show “excellence through an innovative use of media” with preference to those that “push the envelope of architectural representation.”

The Prize for Excellence in Hand Delineation went to Daniel Reynolds of Crofton for his rendering of the Milwaukee Art Museum created for his “Architectural Design 2” (ACH 112) class. His submission was the best example of an entry that “embodies and celebrates the art of architecture as a tool for communication through hand delineations, sketches and renderings,” according to the award criteria.

Jurors’ Citation Awards of a $50 cash prize and two tickets to the state AIA Awards Gala went to Joseph Barrick of Catonsville and Adam J. Brott of Glen Burnie. Both submitted ecoform projects created in the “Architectural Design 4” (ACH 212) class. These honors are awarded at a juror’s discretion to personally recognize a project they feel deserves an award.

Ryan and Robert R. Lowe III, assistant professor of architecture and interior design, worked with the students at award clinic meetings after the term ended to provide guidance. Without Lowe’s expertise and assistance, Ryan said, “AACC would not have been the dominating force in this year’s program.”

College officials praised students and the faculty for their efforts.

“What great news!” said President Martha A. Smith, Ph.D. “Congratulations to all of the faculty and staff and especially the student winners! This is student success in action.”

“This achievement is just phenomenal,” said Kelly A. Koermer, J.D., dean of the School of Business, Computing and Technical Studies. “I commend the faculty members who helped get these students to such high levels of proficiencies.”

Previous Article

750 Enjoy The 1st Harvest Beer Festival

Next Article

Negotiated Agreements With School Groups To Save $30 Million

You might be interested in …