1-14-22 to 3-8-22 <------
-- October 21 - 1-14-22 <---------
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

Comcast Awards Scholarships

| April 01, 2011, 12:25 PM | 0 Comments

(L-R) Maryland Governor Martin O'Malley and State Superintendent of Schools Dr. Nancy Grasmick joined Comcast Regional Senior Vice President Tom Coughlin at a special ceremony held by Comcast Thursday at the Miller Senate Office Building in Annapolis to recognize Maryland high school seniors receiving scholarships through the company's annual Leaders and Achievers program. The Comcast Foundation has awarded $106,000 in scholarships to 97 Maryland students this year. (PRNewsFoto/Comcast)

The Comcast Foundation, founded in 1999 to provide charitable support to its local communities and to empower and enrich lives, is awarding 97 Maryland high school seniors scholarships through its annual Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program.  The program, one of the Comcast Foundation’s signature community investment programs, recognizes students’ leadership skills, academic achievement and commitment to community service.


Comcast, joined by Governor Martin O’Malley, Maryland State Superintendent of Schools Dr. Nancy Grasmick and state legislators, recognized the students at a special event held at the Miller Senate Office Building in Annapolis yesterday.  Ninety-six of the 2011 Maryland Leaders and Achievers recipients received $1,000 scholarships and Abida Kazmi of Parkville High School in Baltimore County was awarded a $10,000 Comcast Founders Scholarship — instituted in honor of Ralph J. Roberts, Founder and Chairman Emeritus of Comcast Corporation — for a total of $106,000 awarded this year.  After a prize drawing, seven students were also given an iPad to use at college.

“Education is a top priority in the state of Maryland, and we work hard to provide our students with opportunities to succeed at every level,” said Governor O’Malley.  “I applaud Comcast’s commitment to developing our future leaders and helping them achieve their dreams of higher education.”

“I am pleased to join Comcast in honoring these students for both their academic accomplishments and civic involvement,” said Dr. Grasmick.  “Comcast has been a partner dedicated to Maryland public education and we are grateful to them for helping our students continue their educational careers.”

“Comcast supports a number of programs that help motivate young people to reach their full potential and make a positive difference in their communities,” said Tom Coughlin, regional senior vice president for Comcast.  “We are proud to honor this group of outstanding students for their commitment to their futures.”

The Comcast Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program provides one-time $1000 scholarships to students who strive to achieve their potential, who are catalysts for positive change in their communities, who are involved in their schools, and who serve as models for their fellow students.  The philosophy behind the program is to give young people every opportunity to be prepared for the future, to engage youth in their communities, and to demonstrate the importance of civic involvement, and the value placed on civic involvement by the business community.

Since the program’s inception there have been over 15,000 scholarship winners totaling more than $15.4 million.

2011 Comcast Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship winners from Anne Arundel County were:

Samantha Foggan of Old Mill High School in Millersville

Melissa Leaf of Northeast High School in Pasadena

Leah Levendusky of South River High School in Edgewater

Brooke Mackall of Glen Burnie High School

Panayiotis Papaleonti of Annapolis High School

Devin Price of Annapolis Area Christian School in Severn

Nancy Puckett of Puckett Home Education Tutorial Program in Odenton

Hemi Thaker of Broadneck High School in Annapolis

Source: Comcast

Tags: ,


About the Author - EOA Staff

Eye On Annapolis is a community based site focusing strictly on Anne Arundel County. These staff postings are general news postings made by our team of bloggers throughout the day and are not attributed to any one particular staff person.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter YouTube rss feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.