July 15, 2024
Annapolis, US 93 F

28 To Compete In 23rd Annual County Spelling Bee

Students from 16 public schools and 11 private schools will join one homeschooled student as they compete to become the champion of the 23rd annual Anne Arundel County Spelling Bee on February 26.

The champion of the county bee wins an all-expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C., to compete in the 2011 Scripps National Spelling Bee on June 1 and 2. There will be other prizes for the county’s top spellers, including monetary awards from the 21st Century Education Foundation, Encyclopaedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster reference books, gift certificates, plaques, and a trophy for the winner’s school.

A partnership of Anne Arundel County Public Schools and the 21st Century Education Foundation, the 2011 bee is presented by A&G Management Company/Managed Properties. This year’s sponsors are Capital-Gazette Communications and Sam’s Club of Annapolis.

The Scripps National Spelling Bee is a not-for-profit educational promotion sponsored by The E.W. Scripps Company in conjunction with businesses and community organizations around the world. Each sponsor organizes a spelling bee program in its community with the cooperation of area school officials: private, charter, parochial, public, and home schools.

The event, which will be broadcast on AACPS-TV, begins at 10 a.m. in the Board Room of the Parham Building, located at 2644 Riva Road in Millersville. AACPS-TV can be found on Channel 96 on Comcast and Broadstripe, and Channel 36 on Verizon.

Participants in this year’s bee are:

● Courtney Dixon, Grade 7, Annapolis Area Christian School

● Evan Mungan, Grade 8, Annapolis Homeschool Group

● Alexander Molina, Grade 7, Arundel Middle School

● Conor Reinold, Grade 7, Central Middle School

● Brooke Carloss, Grade 8, Chesapeake Bay Middle School

● Alexis Coby, Grade 7, Corkran Middle School

● Emily Durell, Grade 8, Crofton Middle School

● Kelsey Jackson, Grade 8, George Fox Middle School

● Maia Brown, Grade 6, Indian Creek School

● Annabel Thompson, Grade 8, Key School

● Tina Lim, Grade 8, Lindale Middle School

● Xanthia Strohl, Grade 6, MacArthur Middle School

● Ashton Thornton, Grade 7, Magothy River Middle School

● T’Asia Mann, Grade 7, Marley Middle School

● Sara Herry, Grade 6, Meade Middle School

● Olivia Simmons, Grade 6, Montessori International Children’s House

● Kevin Shelley, Grade 7, Old Mill Middle School North

● Christopher Umanzor, Grade 8, Old Mill Middle School South

● Carrie Shade, Grade 6, School of the Incarnation

● LeAn Nguyen, Grade 7, Severn River Middle School

● Kate Reed, Grade 8, Severn School

● Nathan Tolley, Grade 7, Severna Park Middle School

● Alexandra Rickett, Grade 7, Southern Middle School

● Jessica Shultz, Grade 8, St. Jane Frances School Severn

● Nicholas Henault, Grade 8, St. John the Evangelist School

● Elizabeth Lomvardias, Grade 7, St. Martin’s Lutheran School

● Rebecca Middleton, Grade 7, St. Mary’s Elementary School

● Brittney Leasure, Grade 7, St. Paul’s Lutheran School

Source: Anne Arundel County Public Schools

Previous Article

Naomi Tutu Addresses Annapolis High

Next Article

Regional Recap, February 24, 2011

You might be interested in …