Herb McMillan For Anne Arundel County Executive <-----
--> Annapolis Restaurant Week <-----
--> <-----
--> Wes Adams For Anne Arundel Conty Circuit Court Judge <-----
Insert future code here--> 1-1 to 1-31 Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
STANDARD HERMAN AD--> Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
Herrmann 40--> “Herrmann <-----
MD Higher Education Commission Near Completer
Insert future code here
1-14-22 to 3-8-22 <------
-- October 21 - 1-14-22 <---------
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

AACPS, Chamber Of Commerce To Commemorate Silver Anniversary Of Excellence In Education Awards

| January 24, 2011, 02:24 PM | 1 Comment

A record 55 Anne Arundel County teachers will be honored on March 29 as Anne Arundel County Public Schools and the Annapolis & Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce celebrate the 25th annual Excellence in Education banquet at the BWI Marriott in Linthicum.

The event will also honor local businesses that have forged critical partnerships with schools across the county, directly benefitting AACPS’ 75,500 students. The evening will culminate with the announcement of the 2011 Anne Arundel County Public Schools Teacher of the Year. That teacher will represent the county in the Maryland State Teacher of the Year competition.

“Year after year it continues to be a great joy of mine to be able to put the spotlight on so many incredible teachers and business partners,” Superintendent Kevin M. Maxwell said. “We have so many people across our county who help to make our school system one of the best in the state, and it is important that we take time to highlight their contributions.”

The following teachers have been nominated by their schools and school communities:
● Terese Allender, Windsor Farm Elementary School
● Bryce Bennie, North County High School
● Lauren Byrd, Severna Park Elementary School
● William Campbell, Odenton Elementary School

● Diane Casey, Broadneck High School
● Robert Cavender, Chesapeake High School
● Charis Cephas, Annapolis Middle School
● Kimberly Chesek, Central Elementary School
● Michele Churchill, Ruth Parker Eason
● Julie DeLeonibus, Benfield Elementary School
● Dana DePaul, Point Pleasant Elementary School
● Laura Groo, Southern Middle School
● Rebecca Hamilton, Pershing Hill Elementary School
● Eric Hare, Solley Elementary School
● Shirley Harrison, Marley Elementary School
● Robyn Healy, Marley Elementary School
● Courtney Hoffberger, Arundel High School
● Heather Hoffman, Glen Burnie High School
● Lori Hoffman, Jones Elementary School
● Deborah Holloway, Central Middle School
● Joseph Holzman, Marley Middle School
● Bethany Husak, Pasadena Elementary School
● Danny Imwold, Northeast High School
● Amy Kreglow, Oakwood Elementary School
● Gina Lenhart, Glen Burnie Park Elementary School
● Julie Maine, Waugh Chapel Elementary School
● Deborah Estelle Marcus, Marley Glen School
● Christina McCall, Deale Elementary School
● Daniel McElwain, George Fox Middle School
● Elmer McPhail, Severna Park Middle School
● Gina Mullin, Benfield Elementary School

● Mary Nicole Murphy, Davidsonville Elementary School
● Kristin O’Leary, Richard Henry Lee Elementary School
● Tammy Perunovich, Benfield Elementary School
● Daniel Pogonowski, Annapolis High School
● Suzanne Poleski, Mayo Elementary School
● Inga “Nikki” Pritchett-Johnson, Freetown Elementary School
● Sharon Ridgeway, Quarterfield Elementary School
● Claire Schade, Mary Moss Academy
● Jennifer Schnepp, Piney Orchard Elementary School
● Diane Schwartz, Riviera Beach Elementary School
● Marveen Sharps, Tyler Heights Elementary School
● Sarah Sheckells, Shady Side Elementary School
● N. Justeen Sherwood, Central Middle School
● Marjorie Smith, Arnold Elementary School
● Edward Steele, Lake Shore Elementary School
● Beth Tipper, Crofton Middle School
● Ann Truffer, Monsignor Slade Catholic School
● John Trumbule, Crofton Meadows Elementary School
● Lang Wethington, Glendale Elementary School
● Richard Wiles, Severna Park Elementary School
● Joyce Wills, Meade High School
● Sarah Ann Winkler, Severn Elementary School
● Karl Yeomans, Southern High School
● Kelly Ziegler, Southgate Elementary School
Semifinalists from the field of 54 public school nominees will be announced later this month. From that group, five finalists will be chosen.

In addition to the public school nominees, Anne Truffer of Monsignor Slade Regional Catholic School will be recognized for her service to that institution.

“This is a special event that celebrates the dedication of our teachers and business partners as they prepare our young people for today’s and tommorow’s workforce and career choices,” said Bob Burdon, President of the Annapolis and Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce.

Business partnership nominations will be accepted until February 11. Forms can be found at www.aaaccc.org.
Tickets for the event are $40 each. For sponsorship information and ticket orders, visit www.aaaccc.org. For other information, please call 410-266-3960.

Tags: , , ,


About the Author - John Frenaye

John is the publisher and editor of Eye On Annapolis. As a resident and business owner in Anne Arundel County for nearly 25 years, he realized that there was something missing in terms of community news–and Eye On Annapolis was born in late spring 2009.

John’s background is in the travel industry as a business owner, industry speaker, and travel writer. In terms of blogging and social media, he cut his teeth with MSNBC.com.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter rss feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.