1-14-22 to 3-8-22 <------
-- October 21 - 1-14-22 <---------
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

Record Number Of County Educators Receive Board Certification

| December 16, 2010, 11:09 AM | 0 Comments

From the Anne Arundel County Public Schools:

Anne Arundel County Public Schools (AACPS) garnered its third consecutive record class today when 61 county educators were included among the more than 8,600 nationwide to achieve National Board Certified status, the highest teaching credential in the nation, according to data released by the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards. The county class represents a 27 percent increase over last year, when 48 educators  earned the honor. It brings to 273 the number of county educators to have earned the honor and leaves AACPS second among Maryland school systems.

“Today’s announcement is not only a testament to the passion and dedication of these 61 educators, it is representative of the lengths to which our employees go to better themselves for the good of our students,” Superintendent Kevin M. Maxwell said. “National Board Certification is a grueling process of self-examination that leads to better instructional practices that provide direct benefits to our students, and I could not be more  proud of a group of people than I am of these educators.”

In all, 120 Anne Arundel County teachers sought the certification this year. The 51 percent achievement rate far surpasses the national average of 36 percent. Approximately 4.4 percent of the county’s teachers are now National Board Certified, the second highest percentage in the state of Maryland.

Nationwide, about 3 percent of teachers have achieved National Board Certification. Anne Arundel’s 2010 class, which successfully completed rigorous assessments with the assistance of a professional development  program offered by the school system, is the second straight AACPS class to rank as one of the 20 largest in the nation, moving up to 12th from 19th a year ago.

In the last four years, nearly 150 Anne Arundel County teachers have achieved National Board Certified status. More than 80 educators are seeking to earn the distinction in 2010-2011. Anne Arundel County boasts 14  percent of the state’s National Board Certified teachers.

The following AACPS educators achieved National Board Certified status in 2010:

● Doris Anderson-Page, Southgate Elementary School

● Lori-Ann Balzano, Davidsonville Elementary School

● Samaira Basit, Meade High School

● Heather Behegan, Seven Oaks Elementary School

● Michael Bell, Southern High School

● Stephanie Bensley, Meade Heights Elementary School

● Lindsey Christian, Mills-Parole Elementary School

● Emily Cieslinski, formerly of Chesapeake High School

● Molly Clauss, Hebron-Harman Elementary School

● Keith Cook, Severn River Middle School

● Jorge Cordoba, Annapolis High School

● Hanne Denney, Southern Middle School

● Lynette Gibson, Central Elementary School

● Ruth Goldstraw, Old Mill High School

● Cheryl Gormus, Southgate Elementary School

● Julie Hall, Arundel High School

● Lisa Haste, Hilltop Elementary School

● Sabra Hill, Severna Park High School

● Cheryl Johnson, Benfield Elementary School

● Lisa Kennedy, Broadneck Elementary School

● Charlita Kennedy, Hilltop Elementary School

● Amy Kennelly, Waugh Chapel Elementary School

● Marlene Kramer, Southern High School

● Rebecca Lamb, AACPS Reading Office

● Jessica Lane, Tyler Heights Elementary School

● Melinda LeBlanc, Crofton Middle School

● Stephen E. Levy, Old Mill High School

● Mark Luers, Glen Burnie Park Elementary School

● Juan Maldonado, Annapolis High School

● Karen M. Maynard, Chesapeake Bay Middle School

● Whitney McCann, Ferndale Early Education Center

● Patricia McMahon, Four Seasons Elementary School

● Linda Joy Morales, Annapolis Middle School

● Greta Morris, Central Elementary School

● Renee Norona, Maryland City Elementary School

● Judith Nowottnick, Arundel Middle School

● Lacee Quarantillo, Hebron-Harman Elementary School

● Jazmin Reinhart, Mills-Parole Elementary School

● Sharon Ridgeway, Quarterfield Elementary School

● Amanda Rzepkowski, Van Bokkelen Elementary School

● Jannel Schettini Luoma, Chesapeake High School

● Donna Schmitz, Lothian Elementary School

● Stacey Scofield, Mills-Parole Elementary School

● Marlene Scott, Severna Park High School

● Marveen Sharps, Tyler Heights Elementary School

● Crystal Shrader, Four Seasons Elementary School

● Rosemary Simmons, Broadneck High School

● Robin Smith, Maryland City Elementary School

● Gail Snyder, South River High School

● Quinn Swain, AAPCS New Teacher Support

● Stacey Swingle, Oakwood Elementary School

● Laneie Taylor, Old Mill Middle School North

● Stacy Taylor, Davidsonville Elementary School

● Megan Tereshko, Davidsonville Elementary School

● Alyse Vesely, Mills-Parole Elementary School

● Shawn Washington-Clark, Meade High School

● Audra Whayland, Arundel High School

● Peggy L. Wheeler, AACPS ESOL Office

● Joseph Wieczorek, AACPS World and Classical Languages

● Ashley Yuscavage, Arundel High School

● Ellen Zedella, Van Bokkelen Elementary School

County educators who achieved National Board Certified status will be honored at a reception on January 11, 2011, at Old Mill High School.



About the Author - John Frenaye

John is the publisher and editor of Eye On Annapolis. As a resident and business owner in Anne Arundel County for nearly 25 years, he realized that there was something missing in terms of community news–and Eye On Annapolis was born in late spring 2009.

John’s background is in the travel industry as a business owner, industry speaker, and travel writer. In terms of blogging and social media, he cut his teeth with MSNBC.com.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter rss feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.